Pertemps Final

Mark Dooley avatar

Written By:


The Pertemps Final is one of the most competitive staying hurdle races of the season and takes place at the Cheltenham Festival in March.

The Pertemps Final will run on the 14th of March 2024.

In order to qualify for the final, a horse must finish in the first six in one of a series of qualifiers held throughout the winter. The race is a handicap over three miles and was upgraded from listed to Grade 3 status in 2018.

Find out more about the Pertemps Final:

Pertemps Final

Pertemps Final Handicap Hurdle Race Overview

The Pertemps Final is a hurdle race for horses aged five and up.

This Grade Three National Hunt hurdle is run over a distance of around 3 miles on the New Course at Cheltenham, and there are twelve hurdles to jump during the race.

It is a handicap race that takes place every year in March during the Cheltenham Festival.

Many Pertemps Final horses will race in more races throughout the years. Stay updated on the horses and place ante-post bets if you want to wager on them.

If you are looking for more racing tips for events taking place at Cheltenham then check out our Cheltenham racecourse racing tips page.

For all Cheltenham races, our finest racing tipsters give free horse racing tips!

Pertemps Final Previous Winners

Check out the previous winners for this race:

2013Holywell611-04Richie McLernonJonjo O’Neill
2014Fingal Bay811–12Richard JohnsonPhilip Hobbs
2015Call The Cops610–12Andrew TinklerNicky Henderson
2016Mall Dini610–11Davy RussellPat Kelly
2017Presenting Percy611-11Davy RussellPat Kelly
2018Delta Work510-10Davy RussellGordon Elliott
2019Sire Du Berlais711-09Barry GeraghtyGordon Elliott
2020Sire Du Berlais811-12Barry GeraghtyGordon Elliott
2021Mrs Milner610-09Bryan CooperPaul Nolan
2022Third Wind811-10Tom O’BrienHughie Morrison
2023Good Time Jonny811-04Liam McKennaTony Martin

Famous Pertemps Final Handicap Hurdle Winners

The Pertemps Final was formerly known as the Coral Golden Hurdle until its current sponsors began supporting the race in 2002.

It was first run in 1974 and quickly became established as one of the big ante-post betting races of the Cheltenham Festival.

The remarkable Willie Wumpkins earned his place in the Cheltenham history books with three successive victories from 1979 to 1981. What was particularly astonishing about him was that the first of those victories was achieved at the age of eleven. He showed precious little form all season but would always peak for the festival meeting.

1983 winner Forgive ‘n Forget was heavily supported for Jim Fitzgerald and Mark Dwyer. He was sent off the 5-2 favourite and led at the last flight before going on to score by three lengths. He would go on to win the Cheltenham Gold Cup in 1985 and the Irish Gold Cup in 1987.

Buena Vista (2010 and 2011) and Sire Du Berlais (2019 and 2020) were dual winners of the race. Buena Vista was a bold front-runner trained by David Pipe while Sire Du Berlais would arrive late on the scene for Gordon Elliott.

Other significant Pertemps Final winners include Holywell (2013), Presenting Percy (2017) and Delta Work (2018), all of which went on to excel over fences.

Buena Vista won at 16-1 and 20-1 and was well supported for a third success in 2012, only to fade tamely at the third last.

Sire Du Berlais started co-favourite for a record-equalling third victory in 2024 but was hampered early on and eventually finished eleventh behind Third Wind.

Key Pertemps Final Trials

There are a dozen or more qualifiers across Britain and Ireland.

The two most productive in terms of winners are the qualifiers at Haydock and Warwick.

Sire Du Berlais caught the eye at the Leopardstown Christmas meeting prior to his 2019 success. The following season he finished fourth at Warwick.

The Warwick race certainly produced the best clues in 2024. The winner Third Wind and runner-up Alaphilippe had finished third and fifth respectively at the Midlands track in January.

Mrs Milner (2021) had also qualified at Leopardstown, although she had fallen on a return visit to the track prior to the Cheltenham Festival.

There have been two winning favourites in the last twelve renewals of the Pertemps Final; Fingal Bay (2014) and Sire Du Berlais (2019). Call The Cops (2015) started third favourite for Nicky Henderson when successful in 2015.

All of the other recent winners have been in double-figures, Holywell (2013) and Third Wind (2024) both returning at 25-1.

Six-year-olds have the best recent record, winning five times in the past ten years.

Only Pragada (1988) and Delta Work (2018) managed to win this race at the age of five. Willie Wumpkins won the race at 11, 12 and 13.

The next oldest winner in the history of the race was Buena Vista who won as a nine and ten-year-old.

Ten of the last twelve winners had raced three times or more in the current season but only five of them had achieved a victory in that period.

All twelve had raced at least six times over hurdles and eight of them had at least one victory over three miles or further.

An official rating of 138 or higher is usually required to win this race.

Mrs Milner (134) was the only recent winner to fall below that mark while Sire Du Berlais was rated 152 when defying 11st 12lbs in 2020. The latter equalled the record weight-carrying performance achieved by Fingal Bay six year’s earlier.

Liverpool and Punchestown are the obvious targets for Pertemps Final winners. All ten winners between 2011 and 2019 ran at one of those festival meetings but only Cape Tribulation (2012) was successful.

Holywell (2013), Presenting Percy (2017) and Sire Du Berlais (2019) returned to win at the Cheltenham Festival the following season.

Pertemps Final – Top Trainers and Jockeys

Jonjo O’Neill is the leading trainer in the history of the Pertemps Final with four winners; Danny Connors (1991), Inching Closer (2003), Creon (2004) and Holywell (2013).

In more recent years, Gordon Elliott has been the trainer to follow with three successive victories from 2018 to 2020, two of them courtesy of Sire Du Berlais. They came during a run of six consecutive Irish-trained winners ended by Hughie Morrison’s Third Wind in 2022.

Davy Russell joined Jim Wilson and Barry Geraghty on the three-winner mark when scoring on Elliott’s Delta Work in 2018. Wilson’s victories were all aboard Willie Wumpkins and he would also train the winner with Taberna Lord in 1987.

Popular Questions

How do you qualify for the Pertemps Final?

To be eligible to run in the Pertemps Final, a horse must finish in the top six in a qualifier event.

How many Pertemps Qualifiers are there?

All together there are 14 Pertemps Qualifiers.

What are the betting trends for the Pertemps Final

Pertemps Final Facts

  • Pertemps Final is a National Hunt race for five-year-old and above horses.
  • It is run on the New Course at Cheltenham Racecourse over a distance of about 3 miles, and during its running, there are 12 fences to be jumped.
  • The race is a handicap race, and it is scheduled to take place each year during the Cheltenham Festival in March.
  • It was formerly known as the Coral Golden Hurdle Final, George Duller Handicap Hurdle and also the Pertemps Network Final Handicap.

Summary of the Pertemps Final

The Pertemps Final is one of the most competitive handicaps of the week at Cheltenham.

The Irish have a recent good record in the race. It is one of the most difficult races in the week to predict with improving types pitched against experienced handicaps.

A great sight to behold with many holding a chance at the last!

If you have enjoyed this Pertemps Final review page, here are some other articles related to Cheltenham betting you may also like: