Rendlesham Hurdle

The Rendlesham Hurdle is a Grade 2 race over an extended three miles at Haydock Park in February.

It is a significant trial for the Stayers Hurdle at the Cheltenham Festival in March.

The last horse to win both races in the same season was Baracouda in 2002.

Other notable winners include Kasbah Bliss (2008, 2009), Reve De Sivola (2016) and Zarkandar (2017).

Find out more about the Rendlesham Hurdle:

Rendlesham Hurdle

Race Overview – The Rendlesham Hurdle

Horses must be four years old or older to compete in the Rendlesham Hurdle, a Grade 2 National Hunt hurdle. 

There are twelve hurdles to clear during the race, which is raced at Haydock Park over a distance of around three miles and a half furlongs (3 miles and 58 yards, or 4,881 metres).

The Rendlesham Hurdle will occur on Saturday 18th February 2023. This is a popular race to take place in February 2023.

Rendlesham Hurdle 2023 Odds

The Rendlesham Hurdle odds are listed below:

The odds for this race have not yet been released.

Rendlesham Hurdle Tips

The Rendlesham Hurdle tips are below:

2 points to win for TBC at odds of TBC
1 point each way for TBC at odds of TBC

Many Rendlesham Hurdle horses will race in more races throughout the years. Stay updated on the horses and place ante-post bets if you want to wager on them.

If you are looking for more racing tips for events taking place at Haydock Park then check out our Haydock Park betting tips page.

Rendlesham Hurdle Previous Winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer
1980Derring Rose5Andy TurnellA Jarvis
1981Derring Rose6John FrancomeFred Winter
1982Hill of Slane6Andy TurnellA Jarvis
1983Mellie8Sam MorsheadR Blakeney
1984Gaye Chance9Sam MorsheadMercy Rimell
1987Aonoch8Jimmy DugganSally Oliver
1988King's College Boy10Graham BradleyMonica Dickinson
1989Cliffalda6Tom MorganJohn Edwards
1990Old Dundalk6Michael BowlbyDavid Murray Smith
1991Floyd11Graham BradleyDavid Elsworth
1992Forest Sun7Jimmy FrostToby Balding
1993Baydon Star6Richard DunwoodyDavid Nicholson
1994Balasani8Richard DunwoodyMartin Pipe
1995Cyborgo5Richard DunwoodyMartin Pipe
1996See Enough8Anthony ToryBob Buckler
1997Pharanear7Adrian MaguireDavid Nicholson
1998Buckhouse Boy8Andrew ThorntonDavid Nicholson
1999Pharanear9Robert ThorntonDavid Nicholson
2000Teaatral6Dean GallagherCharles Egerton
2001Merry Masquerade10Andrew ThorntonMary Reveley
2002Baracouda7Thierry DoumenFrançois Doumen
2003Deano's Beeno11Tony McCoyMartin Pipe
2004Monkerhostin7Richard JohnsonPhilip Hobbs
2005Crystal d'Ainay6Robert ThorntonAlan King
2006Royal Emperor10Padge WhelanSue Smith
2007Labelthou8Barry FentonEmma Lavelle
2008Kasbah Bliss6Barry KeniryFrançois Doumen
2009Kasbah Bliss7Christophe PieuxFrançois Doumen
2010Souffleur7Tom O'BrienPeter Bowen
2011Cross Kennon7Alan O'KeefeJenny Candlish
2012Restless Harry8Henry OliverRobin Dickin
2013Across The Bay9Henry BrookeDonald McCain
2014Seeyouatmidnight6Ryan ManiaSandy Thomson
2015Closing Ceremony6Richie McLernonEmma Lavelle
2016Reve De Sivola11Richard JohnsonNick Williams
2017Zarkandar10Harry CobdenPaul Nicholls
2018Donna's Diamond9Callum BewleyChris Grant
2019Shades Of Midnight9Henry BrookeSandy Thomson
2020Emitom6Gavin SheehanWarren Greatrex
2021Third Wind7Tom CannonHughie Morrison
2022Wholestone11Sam Twiston-DaviesNigel Twiston-Davies
2023Wakool7Conor O'FarrellNick Alexander

Rendlesham Hurdle Previous Result

Famous Rendlesham Hurdle Winners

The Rendlesham Hurdle was first run at Kempton Park in 1980. Derring Rose, a subsequent Stayers Hurdle winner, won the first two runnings. It was changed to a limited handicap between 1995 and 2001.

Baracouda won the race in 2002 for Francois and Thierry Doumen. He won the Stayers Hurdle later that season and again in 2003. His other career wins include the Long Walk Hurdle four times, the Long Distance Hurdle twice and the Ascot Hurdle twice. The same trainer won the Rendlesham again in 2008 and 2009 with Kasbah Bliss.

2016 winner Reve De Sivola never won the Stayers but he did win the Long Walk Hurdle for three successive seasons from 2012 to 2014. He was a popular stayer trained by Nick Williams.

Zarkandar (2017) was another high-class winner, trained by Paul Nicholls and ridden by Harry Cobden. He won the Triumph Hurdle as a juvenile and his other significant victories included the Betfair Hurdle, International Hurdle, Kingwell Hurdle and Aintree Hurdle.

Key Rendlesham Hurdle Trials

There are no obvious trials for the Rendlesham and the recent trend has been for it attract small fields of six or seven runners. These usually feature a leading contender for the Stayers as well as some progressive handicappers.

Only three of the last twelve winners had won on their most recent outing.

Four of the last twelve winners ran in the Stayers Hurdle at the Cheltenham Festival but all were well beaten. In fact, none of the last twelve managed to win another race in the same season.

Rendlesham Hurdle Betting Trends

Favourites have a poor record in the Rendlesham Hurdle.

Only Emitom (7-4) in 2020 has won in the past twelve seasons.

There have been five winning second or third favourites during the same period but there have also been a couple of shock results.

Closing Ceremony (2015) won at 12-1 and Wholestone (2022) returned at 16-1.

The latter won the race at the age of eleven, matching the achievement of Reve De Sivola in 2016.

Other eleven-year-olds to win the Rendlesham were Floyd (1991) and Deano’s Beano (2003).

There have only been two winning five-year-olds in the history of the race; Derring Rose (1980) and Cyborgo (1995).

Rendlesham Hurdle – Top Trainers and Jockeys

David Nicholson won this race a record four times; Baydon Star (1993), Pharanear (1997 and 1999) and Buckhouse Boy (1998).

Martin Pipe and Francois Doumen both won it three times.

Richard Dunwoody won the race for three successive seasons with Baydon Star (1993), Balasani (1994) and Cyborgo (1995). Jockeys to win the race twice include Richard Johnson and Andrew Thornton.

Betting on the Rendlesham Hurdle

The Rendlesham Hurdle has proved tricky for punters despite only attracting a small field. Recent records suggest it would be wise to look beyond the favourite and treat the form with caution.

Facts about the Rendlesham Hurdle

  • The Rendlesham Hurdle is a National Hunt hurdle race in Great Britain that is open to horses aged four years or older.
  • The race is run at Haydock Racecourse over a distance of 3 miles and half a furlong (4,023 metres), and during its running, there are 12 hurdles to be jumped.
  • It is a Grade 2 race and it is scheduled to take place each year in February.
  • The race was first to run in 1980.

Summary of the Rendlesham Hurdle

Thank you for reading our Rendlesham Hurdle page.

A high-class staying jumps hurdle race, it has been won by many top-class horses over the years. In this guide we have looked at betting, recent winners, top trainers and more.

Related February Horse Racing Posts

Here are all of February’s horse racing related posts:


As the Founder of British Racecourses, I have a life-long passion for horse racing and have loved the sport as long as I can remember. I am also a keen racehorse owner and have worked in the gambling industry for several years. I set up British Racecourses with the desire to share my passion for racing with other like-minded people.