Jockey Club Stakes

The Jockey Club Stakes is a Group 2 race for four-year-olds and upwards over a mile and a half at Newmarket. It takes place on the opening day of the Guineas Festival in late April/early May.

It is often the first run of the season for horses being aimed at the Coronation Cup at the Epsom Derby meeting. Phardante (1986, 1987) is the only dual winner of the Jockey Club Stakes while notable recent winners include Silver Patriarch (1999), Sixties Icon (2007) and Al Kazeem (2012).

Find out more about the Jockey Club Stakes:

Jockey Club Stakes

Race Overview – Jockey Club Stakes

The Jockey Club Stakes is a Group 2 flat horse race for horses aged four and above annually in the United Kingdom.

It takes place in late April or early May on the Rowley Mile at Newmarket over a distance of 1 mile and 4 furlongs.

Check out our guides to all the other Group 2 horse races.

Jockey Club Stakes Odds 2023

We will release the Jockey Club 2022 odds as soon as we have them.

Jockey Club Stakes Tips 2023

We will release the Jockey Club 2022 tips as soon as we have them.

Some of the horses in the Jockey Club Stakes will run in other events later in the year. Stay updated on the horses and place ante-post bets if you want to wager on them.

Jockey Club Stakes Previous Winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer
2012 Al Kazeem 4 James Doyle Roger Charlton
2013 Universal 4 Joe Fanning Mark Johnston
2014 Gospel Choir 5 Ryan Moore Sir Michael Stoute
2015 Second Step 4 Andrea Atzeni Luca Cumani
2016 Exosphere 4 Ryan Moore Sir Michael Stoute
2017 Seventh Heaven 4 Ryan Moore Aidan O’Brien
2018 Defoe 4 Andrea Atzeni Roger Varian
2019 Communique 4 Silvestre de Sousa Mark Johnston
no race 2020 [b]
2021 Sir Ron Priestley 5 Franny Norton Mark Johnston
2022 Living Legend 6 Joe Fanning Charlie and Mark Johnston

Famous Jockey Club Stakes Winners

The Jockey Club Stakes was first run over ten furlongs in 1894. The distance was extended to a mile and three-quarters in 1901 and later reduced to a mile and a half in 1962.

The great stayer Ardross won it in 1982, the winner of the Ascot Gold Cup in 1981 and 1982 and failing by only a head to win the 1982 Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe. Phardante won it in consecutive seasons in 1986 and 1987 for Trainer Guy Harwood and jockey Greville Starkey.

Other high-class winners include St Leger winners Silver Patriarch (1999), Millenary (2001) and Sixties Icon (2007).

Al Kazeem was another top-class winner of this event in 2012 for Roger Charlton and James Doyle. His subsequent Group 1 victories included the Prince of Wales’s Stakes at Royal Ascot and the Eclipse Stakes at Sandown in 2013. He also won the Tattersalls Gold Cup at the Curragh in 2013 and 2015 and retired with career earnings in excess of £1.5 million.

Key Jockey Club Stakes Trials

The Jockey Club Stakes is often the first start of the new season for potential Group 1 middle-distance horses. This often includes horses who ran well in the St Leger at Doncaster in their final race the previous season.

The John Porter Stakes at Newbury has produced three of the last eleven winners with two of them having been successful in that race. Five of the last eleven winners have contested the Hardwicke Stakes at Royal Ascot later in the season although only Universal (2013) was placed in that Group 1 contest.

Jockey Club Stakes Betting Trends

Five of the last eleven Jockey Club Stakes winners started favourite or joint-favourite; Jukebox Jury (2010), Dandino (2011), Seventh Heaven (2017), Defoe (2018) and Sir Ron Priestley (2021). Three of the remaining winners featured in the first three in the betting and shock results are rare in this event. The longest priced winner during that period was Communique at 12-1 for Mark Johnson and Silvestre de Sousa in 2019.

Four and five-year-olds have dominated this race. The only exceptions since Ardross won in 1982 were Sapience (1992) and Only Royale (1995), all three winning at the age of six. The official rating of the winner has consistently been between 110 and 115. The only horse to fall below this mark in recent years was Communique (2019) on 108.

Jockey Club Stakes – Top Trainers and Jockeys

Lester Piggott remains the most successful rider in the Jockey Club Stakes with seven victories between 1950 and 1982. The late Pat Eddery won it six times, his last victory coming aboard Millenary for John Dunlop in 2001.

The leading trainer in the history of the race is Alex Taylor Jr. who won it 9 times between 1897 and 1927. Sir Michael Stoute has won it seven times, his most recent success coming with Exosphere in 2016. Mark Johnson has a good recent record with four victories in the last eight seasons.

Betting on the Jockey Club Stakes

The Jockey Club Stakes usually goes the way of a fancied runner with a field of five or less runners in six of the last eleven renewals. This trend looks set to continue and it could be a race to note for horses capable of stepping up to Group 1 company for the big meetings at Epsom and Royal Ascot.

Summary of Jockey Club Stakes

To come.

Guineas Festival Related Posts

Here are all the related articles to the Guineas Festival 2022:

If you do choose to bet, please bet responsibly.

As the Founder of British Racecourses, I have a life-long passion for horse racing and have loved the sport as long as I can remember. I am also a keen racehorse owner and have worked in the gambling industry for several years. I set up British Racecourses with the desire to share my passion for racing with other like-minded people.