Royal Whip Stakes

The Royal Whip Stakes is a three-year-old Irish Group 3 flat horse race for thoroughbreds. It is held at the Curragh in August over a distance of 1 mile and 2 furlongs.

The Royal Whip Stakes takes place on Sunday 20th August 2023.

Check out our guides to all the other Irish Group 3 horse races.

Find out more about the Royal Whip Stakes:

Royal Whip Stakes

Royal Whip Stakes Odds 2023

Here are the latest odds for the Royal Whip Stakes in August 2023:

4.05 Curragh (Race 5) - BOG
  • Date: Sunday 20th of August 2023
  • Time: 16:05
  • Details: 5 Runners Flat Flat 1m 2f 0y
1 Goldana
7 Unless
3 Layfayette
2 Helvic Dream
6 Young Ireland

Royal Whip Stakes Tips 2023

Here are some tips for Royal Whip Stakes in August 2023:

  • 2 points to win for TBC at odds of TBC
  • 1 point each way for TBC at odds of TBC

Some of the horses in the Royal Whip Stakes will run in other events later in the year. Stay updated on the horses and place ante-post bets if you want to wager on them.

Best Royal Whip Stakes Previous Winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer Time
1977Alleged3Peadar MatthewsVincent O'Brien2:43.20
1978Alleged4Lester PiggottVincent O'Brien2:36.40
1979The Bart3Christy RocheTed Curtin
1980My Hollow5Declan GillespieJim Bolger
1981Last Light3Pat EdderyVincent O'Brien
1982Lords3Pat EdderyVincent O'Brien
1983Condell4Declan GillespieJim Bolger
1984Empire Glory3Pat EdderyVincent O'Brien
1985Kamakura3Michael KinaneDermot Weld
1986Dubian4Pat EdderyAlec Stewart
1987Baba Karam3Declan GillespieVincent O'Brien2:34.30
1988Heavenly Manna3Christy RochePaddy Mullins2:46.80
1989Beyond the Lake3Michael KinaneDermot Weld2:35.50
1990Splash of Colour3John ReidVincent O'Brien2:32.20
1991George Augustus3Johnny MurtaghJohn Oxx2:54.80
1992Jahafil4Willie CarsonDick Hern2:36.20
1993Rayseka3Michael KinaneJohn Oxx2:35.90
1994Dancing Sunset [a]3Christy RocheAidan O'Brien2:34.00
1995Shemaran3Johnny MurtaghJohn Oxx2:02.90
1996Pilsudski4Walter SwinburnMichael Stoute2:03.00
1997King Alex4Michael KinaneRoger Charlton2:04.80
1998Make No Mistake3Michael KinaneDermot Weld2:01.80
1999Zomaradah4John ReidLuca Cumani2:04.00
2000Takali3Johnny MurtaghJohn Oxx2:13.70
2001Bach4Michael KinaneAidan O'Brien2:12.20
2002Chancellor4Michael HillsBarry Hills2:11.10
2003High Chaparral4Michael KinaneAidan O'Brien2:04.80
2004Solskjaer4Jamie SpencerAidan O'Brien2:02.90
2005Tropical Lady5Kevin ManningJim Bolger2:07.60
2006Mustameet5Declan McDonoghKevin Prendergast2:07.30
2007Eagle Mountain3Kieren FallonAidan O'Brien2:15.59
2008King of Rome [b]3Johnny MurtaghAidan O'Brien2:12.84
2009Casual Conquest4Pat SmullenDermot Weld2:15.74
2010Fame and Glory4Johnny MurtaghAidan O'Brien2:06.62
2011Banimpire3Kevin ManningJim Bolger2:10.43
2012Famous Name7Pat SmullenDermot Weld2:19.39
2013Maputo3Joe FanningMark Johnston2:08.13
2014Hall of Mirrors4Seamie HeffernanAidan O'Brien2:11.46
2015Found3Seamie HeffernanAidan O'Brien2:09.88
2016Success Days4Shane FoleyKen Condon2:13.27
2017Shamreen4Pat SmullenDermot Weld2:11.44
2018Beautiful Morning5Colm O'DonoghueJessica Harrington2:09.63
2019Buckhurst3Donnacha O'BrienJoseph O'Brien2:13.99
2020Armory3Seamie HeffernanAidan O'Brien2:10.84
2021Earlswood3Shane B KellyJohnny Murtagh2:09.26
2022Luxembourg3Ryan MooreAidan O'Brien2:10.84
2023Layfayette6Colin KeaneNoel Meade2:07.41

Royal Whip Stakes Previous Result

Summary of Royal Whip Stakes

We hope you enjoyed our guide to the Royal Whip Stakes.

Popular Questions

Where is the Royal Whip Stakes held?

The Royal Whip Stakes is held at the Curragh Racecourse.

Related August Articles


James Dooley is a UK entrepreneur who founded British Racecourses because of his love for horse racing. James owns 14 racehorses through Dooley Thoroughbreds, so he understands all aspects of horse racing, from wagering bets, and booking jockeys to sourcing the best horse racing trainers. James Dooley's connections give him inside information on horse racing tips and best chances of a winner.