Brigadier Gerard Stakes

James Dooley avatar

Written By:


The Brigadier Gerard Stakes is a flat horse event that takes place in the United Kingdom.

The Brigadier Gerard Stakes takes place on the 23rd of May 2024.

To compete, horses must be at least four years old.

The Brigadier Gerard Stakes is a Group 3 race for four-year-olds and upwards over ten furlongs. It takes place at Sandown Park in late May or early June and is a recognised trial for the Prince of Wales’s Stakes.

Notable past winners include Stanerra (1983), Mtoto (1987), Bosra Sham (1997) and Workface (2011).

Find out more about the Brigadier Gerard Stakes:

Brigadier Gerard Stakes

Race Ovewview – Brigadier Gerard Stakes

The Brigadier Gerard Stakes is held every year in late May or early June at Sandown Park over a distance of one mile, one furlong, and 209 yards.

Brigadier Gerard Stakes 2024 Odds

Here are the latest odds for the Brigadier Gerard Stakes in June 2024:

These odds have not yet been released.

Brigadier Gerard Stakes Tips

Here are some tips for Brigadier Gerard Stakes in June 2024:

  • 2 points to win for TBC
  • 1 point each way for TBC

Some of the horses in the Brigadier Gerard Stakes will run in other events later in the year. Stay updated on the horses and place ante-post bets if you want to wager on them.

Here is a guide of today’s betting predictions for the races at Sandown from fantastic wagerers who consider important data like the Sandown Park Draw Bias.

For all horse racing events today, our wonderful horse racing tippers offer free horse racing advice!

Brigadier Gerard Stakes Previous Winners

Take a look at the previous winners for the Brigadier Gerard Stakes:

1977Jellaby4Brian TaylorRyan Price
1978Gunner B5Joe MercerHenry Cecil
1979Jellaby6Pat EdderyPeter Walwyn
1980Gregorian4Lester PiggottVincent O'Brien
1981no race 1981 [a]
1982Kalaglow4Greville StarkeyGuy Harwood2:02.14
1983Stanerra5Brian RouseFrank Dunne
1984Adonijah4Lester PiggottHenry Cecil
1985Commanche Run4Lester PiggottLuca Cumani
1986Bedtime6Willie CarsonDick Hern2:09.43
1987Mtoto4Michael RobertsAlec Stewart2:06.55
1988Highland Chieftain5Willie CarsonJohn Dunlop2:10.01
1989Hibernian Gold4Greville StarkeyGuy Harwood2:08.66
1990Husyan4Willie CarsonPeter Walwyn2:09.26
1991Stagecraft4Steve CauthenMichael Stoute2:07.75
1992Opera House4Steve CauthenSir Michael Stoute2:08.68
1993Red Bishop5Michael RobertsJohn Gosden2:08.83
1994Chatoyant4Michael KinaneBill Watts2:07.52
1995Alriffa4Pat EdderyRichard Hannon Sr.2:12.15
1996Pilsudski4Pat EdderyMichael Stoute2:06.76
1997Bosra Sham4Kieren FallonHenry Cecil2:07.37
1998Insatiable5Michael KinaneSir Michael Stoute2:09.99
1999Chester House4Kieren FallonHenry Cecil2:06.54
2000Shiva5Richard QuinnHenry Cecil2:13.90
2001Border Arrow6Frankie DettoriIan Balding2:08.69
2002Potemkin4Dane O'NeillRichard Hannon Sr.2:09.97
2003Sights on Gold4Frankie DettoriSaeed bin Suroor2:07.68
2004Bandari5Willie SuppleMark Johnston2:10.65
2005New Morning4Philip RobinsonMichael Jarvis2:08.01
2006Notnowcato4Michael KinaneSir Michael Stoute2:13.92
2007Take a Bow6Jim CrowleyPatrick Chamings2:08.75
2008Smokey Oakey4Jimmy QuinnMark Tompkins2:11.57
2009Cima de Triomphe4Christophe LemaireLuca Cumani2:06.60
2010Stotsfold7Adam KirbyWalter Swinburn2:05.73
2011Workforce4Ryan MooreSir Michael Stoute2:09.97
2012Carlton House4Ryan MooreSir Michael Stoute2:08.38
2013Mukhadram4Paul HanaganWilliam Haggas2:11.78
2014Sharestan6Kieren FallonSaeed bin Suroor2:23.46
2015Western Hymn4James DoyleJohn Gosden2:06.55
2016Time Test4Ryan MooreRoger Charlton2:06.18
2017Autocratic4Ryan MooreSir Michael Stoute2:07.10
2018Poet's Word5Ryan MooreSir Michael Stoute2:13.99
2019Regal Reality4Ryan MooreSir Michael Stoute2:05.84
2020Lord North[b]4Robert HavlinJohn Gosden2:11.74
2021Euchen Glen8Paul MulrennanJim Goldie2:14.19
2022Bay Bridge4Ryan MooreSir Michael Stoute2:08.10
2023Hukum6Jim CrowleyOwen Burrows2:08.92
2024Royal Rhyme4Clifford LeeKarl Burke2:10.70

Brigadier Gerard Stakes Previous Result

Check out this previous result from Brigadier Gerard Stakes:

Famous Brigadier Gerard Stakes Winners

The Brigadier Gerard Stakes was first run in 1953 under the title of the Coronation Stakes. It was renamed to honour the champion racehorse who won 17 of his 18 career starts including the 1971 2000 Guineas and the 1972 Eclipse and King George.

There have been three dual winners of the race; Chamier (1954, 1955), Tacitus (1963, 1964) and Jellaby (1977, 1979). The popular Irish mare Stanerra won here in 1983 before going on a tremendous run of success in higher grade races. She won the Prince of Wales’s Stakes, Hardwicke Stakes, Joe McGrath Memorial and the Japan Cup.

Mtoto added his name to the roll of honour in 1987 and his subsequent victories included the Prince of Wales’s Stakes (1987, 1988), Eclipse Stakes (1987, 1988) and King George (1988). Henry Cecil’s Bosra Sham (1997) had won the 1000 Guineas and the Champion Stakes the previous season. She also won the Prince of Wales’s Stakes after her Sandown success. 2011 winner Workforce won the 2010 Derby by seven lengths and also won the Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe. More recent high class winners include Poet’s Word (2018), Lord North (2020) and Bay Bridge (2022).

Key Brigadier Gerard Stakes Trials

Although it is difficult to isolate any particular trials, it is worth noting that seven of the last twelve winners had already won at Group 1 to 3 level. Half of those winners ran in the Prince of Wales’s Stakes at Royal Ascot next time with Poet’s Word (2018) and Lord North (2020) winning both races. Three recent winners ran in the Eclipse Stakes but none were successful.

Favourites have a modest recent record in the Brigadier Gerard with only three winners in the last twelve renewals; Carlton House (2012), Sharestan (2014) and Poet’s Word (2018). However, shock results are rare with only two of those twelve winners not featuring in the first three in the betting. Captain Cook (2017) won at 8-1 and Euchen Glen (2021) won as the 20-1 outsider. Four-year-olds have the best recent record, winning eight of those races.

Brigadier Gerard Stakes – Top Trainers and Jockeys

Sir Michael Stoute has an outstanding record in this race with 11 winners; Stagecraft (1991), Opera House (1992), Pilsudski (1996), Insatiable (1998), Notnowcato (2006), Workforce (2011), Carlton House (2012), Autocratic (2017), Poet’s Word (2018), Regal Reality (2019) and Bay Bridge (2022). Ryan Moore leads the jockey stats with seven winners, six of them trained by Stoute and Time Test (2016) for Roger Charlton.

Betting on the Brigadier Gerard Stakes

The Brigadier Gerard Stakes often provides useful clues for the Prince of Wales’s Stakes at Royal Ascot and other top middle-distance races. The first two in the market usually dominate and the form can be followed with confidence. Entries from the Sir Michael Stoute stable are always worth noting.

Summary of Brigadier Gerard Stakes

Thank you for reading our Brigadier Gerard Stakes guide.

The Brigadier Gerard Stakes takes place on the same day as the Henry Ii Stakes, National Stakes and the Whitsun Cup.

Check out our guides to all the other Group 3 horse races.

Popular Questions

Where is the Brigadier Gerard Stakes held?

Brigadier Gerard Stakes is held at Sandown Park.

What distance is Brigadier Gerard Stakes?

Brigadier Gerard Stakes is 1 mile, 1 furlong, and 209 yards long.