Henry II Stakes

James Dooley avatar

Written By:


The Henry II Stakes is a Group 3 flat horse event held in the United Kingdom for horses aged four and up.

The Henry II Stakes takes place on 23rd May 2024.

The Henry II Stakes is a Group 3 race for four-year-olds and upwards over two miles. It is run at Sandown Park in late May and is a recognised trial for the Ascot Gold Cup.

Notable past winners include Buckskin (1979), Ardross (1982), Drum Taps (1992), Double Trigger (1995, 1996) and Persian Punch (1997, 1998 and 2000).

This guide has all of the most recent tips, odds, and the option to view prior year’s winners. We hope you will enjoy it.

Race Overview – Henry II Stakes

Henry II Stakes is held every year in late May in Sandown Park over a distance of 2 miles and 50 yards.

Henry II Stakes 2024 Odds

The Henry II Stakes 2024 odds are below:

These odds have not yet been released.

Henry II Stakes 2024 Tips

Our Henry II Stakes Tips are below:

  • 2 points to win for TBC
  • 1 point each way for TBC

Here is a list of today’s betting predictions for the Sandown Races from excellent wagerers who consider important data like the Sandown Park Draw Bias.

For all horse racing events today, our incredible horse racing tippers offer free horse racing betting advice!

What Happened In The 2023 Henry II Stakes

Check out this previous result from Henry II Stakes:

Henry II Stakes Previous Winners

Take a look at the previous winners for the Henry II Stakes:

1978Smuggler5Willie CarsonDick Hern
1979Buckskin6Joe MercerHenry Cecil
1980Billion6Pat EdderyJohn Dunlop
1981no race 1981 [a]
1982Ardross6Lester PiggottHenry Cecil
1983Ore5Lester PiggottWillie Musson
1984Harly4Pat EdderyJohn Dunlop
1985Destroyer4Simon WhitworthKim Brassey
1986Longboat5Willie CarsonDick Hern3:37.83
1987Saronicos4Tony IvesClive Brittain3:30.47
1988Primitive Rising4Steve CauthenHenry Cecil3:40.95
1989Sadeem6Greville StarkeyGuy Harwood3:29.93
1990Teamster4Walter SwinburnMichael Stoute3:33.88
1991Top of the World4Michael RobertsClive Brittain3:35.59
1992Drum Taps6Frankie DettoriLord Huntingdon3:32.75
1993Brier Creek4Michael RobertsJohn Gosden3:39.64
1994My Patriarch4Pat EdderyJohn Dunlop3:38.34
1995Double Trigger4Jason WeaverMark Johnston3:33.01
1996Double Trigger5Jason WeaverMark Johnston3:41.15
1997Persian Punch4Ray CochraneDavid Elsworth3:35.15
1998Persian Punch5Walter SwinburnDavid Elsworth3:35.58
1999Arctic Owl5Ray CochraneJames Fanshawe3:33.18
2000Persian Punch7Philip RobinsonDavid Elsworth3:53.45
2001Solo Mio7Michael KinaneAmanda Perrett3:37.43
2002Akbar6Richard HillsMark Johnston3:32.44
2003Mr Dinos4Frankie DettoriPaul Cole3:30.50
2004Papineau4Frankie DettoriSaeed bin Suroor3:34.17
2005Fight Your Corner6Kerrin McEvoySaeed bin Suroor3:38.77
2006Tungsten Strike5Ryan MooreAmanda Perrett3:45.55
2007Allegretto4Seb SandersSir Michael Stoute3:39.47
2008Finalmente6Frankie DettoriSimon Callaghan3:54.30
2009Geordieland8Shane KellyJamie Osborne3:30.07
2010Akmal4Richard HillsJohn Dunlop3:37.92
2011Blue Bajan9Daniel TudhopeDavid O'Meara3:41.33
2012Opinion Poll6Frankie DettoriMahmood Al Zarooni3:34.80
2013Gloomy Sunday4Olivier PeslierChristophe Ferland3:44.57
2014Brown Panther6Richard KingscoteTom Dascombe3:47.94
2015Vent De Force4Richard HughesHughie Morrison3:37.86
2016Pallasator7Oisin MurphySir Mark Prescott3:43.12
2017Big Orange6Frankie DettoriMichael Bell3:32.67
2018Magic Circle6Fran BerryIan Williams3:41.09
2019Dee Ex Bee4Silvestre de SousaMark Johnston3:34.00
2020 [b]Dashing Willoughby4Oisin MurphyAndrew Balding3:35.36
2021Lismore4Jamie SpencerHenry De Bromhead3:50.22
2022Quickthorn5Tom MarquandHughie Morrison3:38.27
2023Roberto Escobarr6Richard KingscoteWilliam Haggas3:38.67

Betting On The Henry II Stakes Group 3 Race

Betting stalls may be found around Sandown Racecourse, so putting a wager should not be difficult.

If you want to make your bets online, do so early in the day because the signal at the track isn’t always reliable.

For betting on the Henry II Stakes, we advise the following links:

Famous Henry II Stakes Winners

The Henry II Stakes was first run in 1963 with victory going to Gaul. The race was run as a Group 2 between 2002 and 2012 before reverting to Group 3 status. 1979 winner Buckskin was a top class stayer but victory in the Ascot Gold Cup eluded him, partly due to recurring health problems. He did manage to win the Prix du Cadran in his native France in 1997 and 1998.

1982 winner Ardross was a Champion Stayer, winning the Ascot Gold Cup in 1981 and 1982. He also won the Yorkshire Cup twice and the Doncaster Cup and was a close second in the Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe. Drum Taps (1992) also added the Ascot Gold Cup in 1992 and 1993 while popular stayer Double Trigger won this race in successive seasons in 1995 and 1996.

The only three-time winner of the Henry II Stakes was Persian Punch, a grand stayer trained by David Elsworth. He was famous for his tenacious front-running performances, winning here in 1997, 1998 and 2000. Other notable winners include Mr Dinos (2003), Papineau (2004) and Brown Panther (2014). The last horse to win this race and the Ascot Gold Cup in the same season was Big Orange in 2017. He held off the hot favourite Order of St George by a short-head. He then became the first horse in history to win the Goodwood Cup for three successive seasons.

Key Henry II Stakes Trials

Three of the last twelve winners of the Henry II Stakes had raced in the Sagaro Stakes at Ascot on their previous start. One had been successful and two were placed. The winner of this race often goes to Royal Ascot next time for the Gold Cup. Seven of the last twelve ran at Ascot with only Big Orange winning both races. 2022 winner Quickthorn won the Prix Maurice de Nieuil at Longchamp on his next start.

Seven of the last twelve Henry II Stakes winners started favourite. Big Orange (2017) and Dee Ex Bee (2019) were both odds-on, starting at 4-5 and 4-7 respectively. There have been a couple of surprise winners; Gloomy Sunday (2013) at 20-1 and Lismore (2021) at 14-1. Four-year-olds has won five of the last twelve renewals. The oldest winner in modern times was Geordieland (2009) at the age of eight.

Henry II Stakes – Top Trainers and Jockeys

The most successful trainer in the history of the Henry II Stakes is Major Dick Hern with six winners. Mark Johnston trained the winner four times, most recently with Dee Ex Bee in 2019. Frankie Dettori leads the jockey stats with six victories, his last coming aboard Big Orange in 2017.

Betting on the Henry II Stakes

The Henry II Stakes is an established trial for the Royal Ascot Gold Cup, although the recent record of winners going to Ascot has been poor. Favourites have a good record here and shock results have been few and far between.

Summary of the Henry II Stakes

Thank you for checking out our Henry II Stakes guide. We hope it was useful to you.

The Henry II Stakes takes place on the same day as the Brigadier Gerard Stakes, National Stakes and Whitsun Cup.

Take a look at all our other group 3 races.

Popular Questions

Where is the Henry II Stakes held?

The Henry II Stakes is held at Sandown Park.


Searches Associated With Henry II Stakes

  • Henry II Stakes Trends
  • Henry II Stakes 2024
  • Henry II Stakes Sandown
  • Henry II Stakes Betting Odds
  • Henry II Stakes Horse Racing Tips