Flying Five Stakes

James Dooley avatar

Written By:


The Flying Five Stakes is a Group 1 flat horse race for thoroughbreds aged three and up that takes place in Ireland.

The Flying Five Stakes is held on Monday 11th September 2023.

Every year in September, it is held at the Curragh over a distance of 5 furlongs as part of Irish Champions Weekend.

Find out more about the Flying Five Stakes:

Flying Five Stakes

Flying Five Stakes 2023 Odds

Here are the latest odds for the Flying Five Stakes in September 2023:

  • There is no open book of odds in the ante-post market for this event yet

Flying Five Stakes Tips

Here are some tips for Flying Five Stakes in September 2023:

  • 2 points to win for TBC at odds of TBC
  • 1 point each way for TBC at odds of TBC

Horses from the Flying Five Stakes can be found in several races during the year. View all the races to recognise how these horses do or place your bets on ante-post betting.

For racing tips on more races at Curragh, check out our tips guide.

Our excellent horse racing tippers provide exceptional horse event tips for today for all Curragh racing events!

Flying Five Stakes Previous Winners

Check out the previous winners below:

1985Committed5Michael KinaneDermot Weld1:00.20
1986Acushla3Pat EdderyVincent O'Brien0:56.80
1987Polonia3Stephen CraineJim Bolger0:57.20
1988Heather Seeker2Declan GillespieLiam Browne0:59.20
1989Handsome Sailor6Michael HillsBarry Hills0:57.70
1990Boozy3Richard FoxJack Berry0:56.40
1991Flowing3Michael KinaneDermot Weld1:00.20
1992Flowing4Pat ShanahanDermot Weld1:00.40
1993Tropical3Michael KinaneDermot Weld0:59.40
1994Tropical4Michael KinaneDermot Weld1:00.20
1995Bunty Boo6Michael HillsRichard Hannon Sr.0:58.70
1996Eveningperformance5Chris RutterHenry Candy0:57.80
1997Midnight Escape4Kevin DarleyChris Wall0:59.90
1998Tedburrow6Willie SuppleEric Alston1:02.50
1999Tedburrow7Willie SuppleEric Alston1:02.10
2000Namid4Johnny MurtaghJohn Oxx0:58.60
2001Ishiguru3Michael KinaneAidan O'Brien0:59.50
2002Danehurst4George DuffieldSir Mark Prescott0:58.30
2003Deportivo3Richard HughesRoger Charlton0:57.70
2004Ringmoor Down5Michael KinaneDavid Arbuthnot0:58.60
2005Benbaun4Jamie SpencerMark Wallace0:59.20
2006Benbaun5Pat SmullenMark Wallace0:57.50
2007Benbaun6Pat SmullenMark Wallace0:58.79
2008Look Busy3Slade O'HaraAlan Berry1:00.75
2009Reverence8Willie SuppleEric Alston1:05.44
2010Astrophysical Jet3Graham GibbonsEd McMahon0:58.56
2011Amour Propre5Dane O'NeillHenry Candy0:58.34
2012My Girl Anna5Rory ClearyMuredach Kelly1:04.62
2013Dutch Masterpiece3Joseph O'BrienGary Moore0:58.00
2014Stepper Point5Martin DwyerWilliam Muir0:59.04
2015Sole Power8Chris HayesEdward Lynam1:01.29
2016Ardhoomey4Colin KeaneGer Lyons1:01.54
2017Caravaggio3Ryan MooreAidan O'Brien1:00.54
2018Havana Grey3Richard KingscoteKarl Burke0:59.59
2019Fairyland3Ryan MooreAidan O'Brien0:57.88
2020Glass Slippers4Tom EavesKevin Ryan1:00.58
2021Romantic Proposal5Chris HayesEdward Lynam0:59.77
2022Highfield Princess5Jason HartJohn Quinn1:02.51
2023Moss Tucker5Billy LeeKen Condon1:00.89

Flying Five Stakes Previous Result

Check out this result from the Curragh Racecourse:

Summary of Flying Five Stakes

Thank you for reading our Flying Five Stakes guide.

Check out our guides to all the other Irish Group 1 horse races.

Popular Questions

Where is the Flying Five Stakes held?

The Flying Five Stakes is held at the Curragh Racecourse.