Vincent O’Brien National Stakes

The Vincent O’Brien National Stakes is a Group 1 flat race for two-year-old thoroughbred colts and fillies held in Ireland.

The Vincent O’Brien National Stakes takes place on Monday 11th September 2023.

It takes place at the Curragh in September over a distance of 7 furlongs.

Find out more about the Vincent O’Brien National Stakes:

Vincent O’Brien National Stakes 2023 Odds

Here are the latest odds for the Vincent O’Brien National Stakes in September 2023:

  • There is no open book of odds in the ante-post market for this event yet

Vincent O’Brien National Stakes Tips

Here are some tips for Vincent O’Brien National Stakes in September 2023:

  • 2 points to win for TBC at odds of TBC
  • 1 point each way for TBC at odds of TBC

You may find horses from the Vincent O’Brien National Stakes in additional races throughout the year. Watch exactly how all these horses perform then go place your bets on ante-post betting.

Vincent O’Brien National Stakes Previous Winners

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Owner Time
1976PampapaulJohn CorrStuart MurlessHans Paul1:26.00
1977Diamonds Are TrumpWally SwinburnDermot WeldBertram Firestone1:26.30
1978Tap On WoodErnie JohnsonBarry HillsTony Shead1:28.00
1979MonteverdiRaymond CarrollVincent O'BrienRobert Sangster1:30.50
1980Storm BirdTommy MurphyVincent O'BrienRobert Sangster1:28.10
1981Day Is DoneWally SwinburnDermot WeldBertram Firestone1:28.20
1982GlenstalVincent RossiterVincent O'BrienRobert Sangster1:29.00
1983El Gran SenorPat EdderyVincent O'BrienRobert Sangster1:28.10
1984Law SocietyPat EdderyVincent O'BrienStavros Niarchos1:26.30
1985Tate GalleryCash AsmussenVincent O'BrienStavros Niarchos1:28.80
1986LocktonMichael HillsJeremy HindleyAlan Gibson1:25.70
1987CaerwentCash AsmussenVincent O'BrienSir Edmund Loder1:32.20
1988Classic FameJohn ReidVincent O'BrienClassic Thoroughbred plc1:28.00
1989Dashing BladeJohn MatthiasIan BaldingJeff Smith1:25.20
1990Heart of DarknessPat ShanahanIan BaldingPaul Mellon1:23.10
1991El PradoLester PiggottVincent O'BrienRobert Sangster1:24.40
1992FatherlandLester PiggottVincent O'BrienJacqueline O'Brien1:33.70
1993ManntariJohnny MurtaghJohn OxxHH Aga Khan IV1:29.70
1994Definite ArticleMichael KinaneDermot WeldMoyglare Stud Farm1:31.10
1995Danehill DancerPat EdderyNeville CallaghanMichael Tabor1:24.10
1996Desert KingWalter SwinburnAidan O'BrienMichael Tabor1:25.70
1997King of KingsChristy RocheAidan O'BrienMagnier / Tabor1:43.30
1998Mus-IfMichael KinaneDermot WeldHamdan Al Maktoum1:41.50
1999SinndarJohnny MurtaghJohn OxxHH Aga Khan IV1:46.20
2000BeckettSeamie HeffernanAidan O'BrienMagnier / Tabor1:29.80
2001Hawk WingMichael KinaneAidan O'BrienSue Magnier1:20.90
2002Refuse to BendPat SmullenDermot WeldMoyglare Stud Farm1:26.00
2003One Cool CatMichael KinaneAidan O'BrienMagnier / Tabor1:23.10
2004DubawiFrankie DettoriSaeed bin SuroorGodolphin1:24.80
2005George WashingtonKieren FallonAidan O'BrienMagnier / Tabor / Smith1:23.70
2006TeofiloKevin ManningJim BolgerJackie Bolger1:26.40
2007New ApproachKevin ManningJim BolgerBolger / Sheikh Moh'd1:23.51
2008MastercraftsmanJohnny MurtaghAidan O'BrienSmith / Magnier / Tabor1:37.59
2009KingsfortDeclan McDonoghKevin PrendergastNorman Ormiston1:33.63
2010PathforkFran BerryJessica HarringtonSilverton Hill Partnership1:27.95
2011PowerSeamie HeffernanAidan O'BrienTabor / Smith / Magnier1:27.74
2012Dawn ApproachKevin ManningJim BolgerGodolphin1:25.50
2013ToormoreRichard HughesRichard Hannon Sr.Middleham Park Racing IX & James Pak1:22.67
2014GleneaglesJoseph O'BrienAidan O'BrienTabor / Smith / Magnier1:25.29
2015Air Force BlueJoseph O'BrienAidan O'BrienTabor / Smith / Magnier1:29.89
2016ChurchillRyan MooreAidan O'BrienTabor / Smith / Magnier1:28.28
2017Verbal DexterityKevin ManningJim BolgerJackie Bolger1:27.32
2018QuortoWilliam BuickCharlie ApplebyGodolphin1:24.81
2019PinatuboWilliam BuickCharlie ApplebyGodolphin1:21.82
2020Thunder MoonDeclan McDonoghJoseph Patrick O'BrienChantal Regalado-Gonzalez1:28.53
2021Native TrailWilliam BuickCharlie ApplebyGodolphin1:26.27
2022Al RiffaDylan Browne McMonagleJoseph O'BrienJassim Bin Ali Al Attiyah1:29.31

Vincent O’Brien National Stakes Previous Result

Summary of Vincent O’Brien National Stakes

Thank you for reading our Vincent O’Brien National Stakes guide.

Check out our guides to all the other Group 1 Races in Ireland.

Popular Questions

Where is the Vincent O'Brien National Stakes held?

The Vincent O’Brien National Stakes is held at the Curragh Racecourse.

Related September Articles


As the Founder of British Racecourses, I have a life-long passion for horse racing and have loved the sport as long as I can remember. I am also a keen racehorse owner and have worked in the gambling industry for several years. I set up British Racecourses with the desire to share my passion for racing with other like-minded people.