Yorkshire Racecourses

We have all the best horse racing tracks if you are looking for which racecourses to visit in Yorkshire.

Horse racing fans have some amazing events, the highlight being the 2022 York Ebor Festival.

If you want to watch professional jockeys and horses gallop to the finish line, you should consider a race day in Yorkshire!

Our Yorkshire Racecourses guide explains all the leading racecourses in and around Yorkshire county.

Yorkshire Racecourses List

Here is the full list of racecourses near Yorkshire:

  • Beverley
  • Catterick
  • Doncaster
  • Pontefract
  • Redcar
  • Ripon
  • Thirsk
  • Wetherby
  • York

The nine racing tracks host over 180 days of horse racing throughout the year, from the pure adrenaline of championship races to the relaxed informality of family days.

Beverley

Beverley racecourse is a thoroughbred horse racing venue located in Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire.

This particular location shows flat racing throughout the year, with the most notable races being The Hilary Needler Trophy, and The Beverley Bullet Sprint Stakes, taking place in May and August respectfully.

Racing at Beverley racecourse dates back to the 1700s, and since then, this race course has only grown in popularity.

Check out our comprehensive guide to Beverley Racecourse for more information on tickets, fixtures and betting opportunities.

Catterick

Catterick Racecourse, also known as Catterick Bridge Racecourse, and is located in the north of Yorkshire.

Catterick is a brilliant venue to attend to watch both flat and national hunt racing throughout the year, with a brilliant atmosphere and good hospitality options, too.

Opening back in 1783, Catterick racecourse is also the home to The North Yorkshire Grand National, the biggest event held at Catterick.

Check out our comprehensive guide to Catterick Racecourse for more information on tickets, fixtures and betting opportunities.

Doncaster

Doncaster racecourse, also known as The Town Moor racecourse, with racing events dating back as far as the 1600s!

This famous racing venue has events on all the way through the year, so there’s plenty of opportunities to attend.

The most notable include The Doncaster Cup, St. Leger Stakes and The Lincoln Handicap.

In our opinion, this is one of the the best racecourses to visit in Yorkshire.

Check out our comprehensive guide to Doncaster Racecourse for more information on tickets, fixtures and betting opportunities.

Pontefract

Pontefract racecourse, located in West Yorkshire, is a thoroughbred racecourse showcasing flat races only.

This is one of the smaller courses in Yorkshire, however has an excellent family atmosphere and is a great day out if you fancy a smaller racecourse to visit.

Interestingly, this course was actually used for some very significant races during World War II, whilst other locations were out of action.

Check out our comprehensive guide to Pontefract Racecourse for more information on tickets, fixtures and betting opportunities.

Redcar

Opening back in 1872, Redcar racecourse is one of the major racecourses you can visit in the Yorkshire area.

This terrific racing venue has been home to some absolute classics over the years, and hosts many exciting races each year.

These include the likes of The Zetland Gold Cup, The Two Year Old Trophy and The Guisborough Stakes

Check out our comprehensive guide to Redcar Racecourse for more information on tickets, fixtures and betting opportunities.

Ripon

Ripon racecourse, also known as The Garden racecourse, is a thoroughbred racecourse located in North Yorkshire.

This venue began it’s racing in 1900, and has developed into a very popular racecourse with thousands attending year in and year out.

This flat course has been home to some fantastic races over the years, and definitely one to consider if you’re looking for a racecourse in the Yorkshire area.

Check out our comprehensive guide to Ripon Racecourse for more information on tickets, fixtures and betting opportunities.

Thirsk

Thirsk racecourse is a smaller thoroughbred venue that’s situated in North Yorkshire.

It’s flat, left handed course has hosted some thrilling races in the past, and if it’s a small and lowkey racing venue you’re after, this could be the one for you.

Check out our comprehensive guide to Thirsk Racecourse for more information on tickets, fixtures and betting opportunities.

Wetherby

Located in the market town of Wetherby, North Yorkshire, this brilliant venue is one of our favourites in the area.

Wetherby offers both flat and national hunt racing throughout the year, including notable races such as The West Yorkshire Hurdle, The Castleford Chase and more.

This popular venue has been around since 1891, and since then has become a staple of Yorkshire horse racing.

Check out our comprehensive guide to Wetherby Racecourse for more information on tickets, fixtures and betting opportunities.

York

And finally, there’s York. Also located in North Yorkshire, York racecourse is another tremendous example of what this county has to offer when it comes to horse racing.

York racecourse is definitely one of the best in Yorkshire, offering excellent hospitality, and a fun, buzzing atmosphere for those who attend.

Notable races at York include The Dante Stakes, The Ebor Handicap, The International Stakes and The Nunthorpe Stakes to name a few.

Check out our comprehensive guide to York Racecourse for more information on tickets, fixtures and betting opportunities.

Why Watch Horse Racing In Yorkshire?

Horse racing in Yorkshire is an excellent choice for race-goers, as there’s an extensive list of amazing venues to choose from.

This location is extremely popular for those looking to enjoy a fun day out at the races, with many venues located in the heart of the British countryside.

So be sure to take a look through all of the racecourses in Yorkshire to learn more about which one takes your fancy.

Which Racecourse In Yorkshire Is The Best?

Whilst there is no definitive answer to the best racecourse in Yorkshire, our favourites are York Racecourse, Doncaster Racecourse and Wetherby Racecourse, as their atmospheres, racing events and hospitality are brilliant.

That being said, the best racecourse in Yorkshire can entirely depend on what it is you’re looking for, as some venues are quieter and more family-orientated.

Additionally, some venues may be better suited in terms of the location, so we’d always suggest researching each and ever racecourse prior to making your mind up.

Yorkshire Horse Racing Fixtures 2023

Here is the horse racing calendar for Yorkshire Horse Races in 2023:

Date Weekday Course Type
1/1/2023 Sunday Catterick Bridge Afternoon – Jump – Turf
10/1/2023 Tuesday Doncaster Afternoon – Jump – Turf
12/1/2023 Thursday Catterick Bridge Afternoon – Jump – Turf
14/1/2023 Saturday Wetherby Afternoon – Jump – Turf
25/1/2023 Wednesday Catterick Bridge Afternoon – Jump – Turf
26/1/2023 Thursday Wetherby Afternoon – Jump – Turf
27/1/2023 Friday Doncaster Afternoon – Jump – Turf
28/1/2023 Saturday Doncaster Afternoon – Jump – Turf
3/2/2023 Friday Catterick Bridge Afternoon – Jump – Turf
4/2/2023 Saturday Wetherby Afternoon – Jump – Turf
9/2/2023 Thursday Doncaster Afternoon – Jump – Turf
13/2/2023 Monday Catterick Bridge Afternoon – Jump – Turf
15/2/2023 Wednesday Wetherby Afternoon – Jump – Turf
22/2/2023 Wednesday Doncaster Afternoon – Jump – Turf
28/2/2023 Tuesday Catterick Bridge Afternoon – Jump – Turf
3/3/2023 Friday Doncaster Afternoon – Jump – Turf
4/3/2023 Saturday Doncaster Afternoon – Jump – Turf
6/3/2023 Monday Wetherby Afternoon – Jump – Turf
8/3/2023 Wednesday Catterick Bridge Afternoon – Jump – Turf
17/3/2023 Friday Doncaster Afternoon – Jump – Turf
21/3/2023 Tuesday Wetherby Afternoon – Jump – Turf
31/3/2023 Friday Wetherby Afternoon – Jump – Turf
1/4/2023 Saturday Doncaster Afternoon – Flat – Turf
2/4/2023 Sunday Doncaster Afternoon – Flat – Turf
4/4/2023 Tuesday Thirsk Afternoon – Flat – Turf
6/4/2023 Thursday Wetherby Afternoon – Jump – Turf
10/4/2023 Monday Redcar Afternoon – Flat – Turf
11/4/2023 Tuesday Pontefract Afternoon – Flat – Turf
12/4/2023 Wednesday Catterick Bridge Afternoon – Flat – Turf
17/4/2023 Monday Redcar Afternoon – Flat – Turf
19/4/2023 Wednesday Beverley Afternoon – Flat – Turf
20/4/2023 Thursday Ripon Afternoon – Flat – Turf
22/4/2023 Saturday Thirsk Afternoon – Flat – Turf
24/4/2023 Monday Pontefract Afternoon – Flat – Turf
26/4/2023 Wednesday Catterick Bridge Afternoon – Flat – Turf
27/4/2023 Thursday Beverley Afternoon – Flat – Turf
28/4/2023 Friday Doncaster Afternoon – Flat – AWT
29/4/2023 Saturday Doncaster Evening – Flat – Turf
29/4/2023 Saturday Ripon Afternoon – Flat – Turf
30/4/2023 Sunday Wetherby Afternoon – Flat – Turf
1/5/2023 Monday Beverley Afternoon – Flat – Turf
3/5/2023 Wednesday Pontefract Afternoon – Flat – Turf
4/5/2023 Thursday Redcar Afternoon – Flat – Turf
6/5/2023 Saturday Doncaster Evening – Flat – Turf
6/5/2023 Saturday Thirsk Afternoon – Flat – Turf
11/5/2023 Thursday Thirsk Evening – Flat – Turf
12/5/2023 Friday Ripon Evening – Flat – Turf
15/5/2023 Monday Catterick Bridge Afternoon – Flat – Turf
16/5/2023 Tuesday Beverley Afternoon – Flat – Turf
16/5/2023 Tuesday Wetherby Evening – Flat – Turf
17/5/2023 Wednesday York Afternoon – Flat – Turf
18/5/2023 Thursday York Afternoon – Flat – Turf
19/5/2023 Friday York Afternoon – Flat – Turf
20/5/2023 Saturday Doncaster Evening – Flat – Turf
20/5/2023 Saturday Thirsk Afternoon – Flat – Turf
21/5/2023 Sunday Ripon Afternoon – Flat – Turf
22/5/2023 Monday Redcar Afternoon – Flat – Turf
25/5/2023 Thursday Catterick Bridge Afternoon – Flat – Turf
26/5/2023 Friday Pontefract Evening – Flat – Turf
27/5/2023 Saturday York Afternoon – Flat – Turf
29/5/2023 Monday Redcar Afternoon – Flat – Turf
30/5/2023 Tuesday Redcar Afternoon – Flat – Turf
31/5/2023 Wednesday Beverley Afternoon – Flat – Turf
1/6/2023 Thursday Ripon Afternoon – Flat – Turf
2/6/2023 Friday Catterick Bridge Evening – Flat – Turf
2/6/2023 Friday Doncaster Evening – Flat – Turf
3/6/2023 Saturday Doncaster Afternoon – Flat – Turf
5/6/2023 Monday Thirsk Afternoon – Flat – Turf
6/6/2023 Tuesday Wetherby Evening – Flat – Turf
7/6/2023 Wednesday Ripon Evening – Flat – Turf
9/6/2023 Friday Thirsk Afternoon – Flat – Turf
10/6/2023 Saturday Beverley Afternoon – Flat – Turf
10/6/2023 Saturday Catterick Bridge Afternoon – Flat – Turf
12/6/2023 Monday Pontefract Evening – Flat – Turf
13/6/2023 Tuesday Wetherby Evening – Flat – Turf
16/6/2023 Friday York Afternoon – Flat – Turf
17/6/2023 Saturday York Afternoon – Flat – Turf
18/6/2023 Sunday Doncaster Afternoon – Flat – Turf
20/6/2023 Tuesday Beverley Evening – Flat – Turf
20/6/2023 Tuesday Thirsk Afternoon – Flat – Turf
21/6/2023 Wednesday Ripon Evening – Flat – Turf
22/6/2023 Thursday Ripon Afternoon – Flat – Turf
23/6/2023 Friday Redcar Afternoon – Flat – Turf
24/6/2023 Saturday Redcar Afternoon – Flat – Turf
25/6/2023 Sunday Pontefract Afternoon – Flat – Turf
27/6/2023 Tuesday Beverley Afternoon – Flat – Turf
30/6/2023 Friday Doncaster Afternoon – Flat – Turf
1/7/2023 Saturday Doncaster Evening – Flat – Turf
3/7/2023 Monday Pontefract Afternoon – Flat – Turf
5/7/2023 Wednesday Thirsk Afternoon – Flat – Turf
7/7/2023 Friday Beverley Evening – Flat – Turf
7/7/2023 Friday Doncaster Afternoon – Flat – Turf
8/7/2023 Saturday Beverley Afternoon – Flat – Turf
10/7/2023 Monday Ripon Evening – Flat – Turf
11/7/2023 Tuesday Pontefract Afternoon – Flat – Turf
12/7/2023 Wednesday Catterick Bridge Afternoon – Flat – Turf
13/7/2023 Thursday Doncaster Afternoon – Flat – Turf
14/7/2023 Friday York Afternoon – Flat – Turf
15/7/2023 Saturday York Afternoon – Flat – Turf
18/7/2023 Tuesday Beverley Afternoon – Flat – Turf
19/7/2023 Wednesday Catterick Bridge Afternoon – Flat – Turf
21/7/2023 Friday Pontefract Evening – Flat – Turf
22/7/2023 Saturday Doncaster Evening – Flat – Turf
22/7/2023 Saturday Ripon Afternoon – Flat – Turf
23/7/2023 Sunday Redcar Afternoon – Flat – Turf
24/7/2023 Monday Beverley Evening – Flat – Turf
26/7/2023 Wednesday Catterick Bridge Afternoon – Flat – Turf
27/7/2023 Thursday Doncaster Evening – Flat – Turf
28/7/2023 Friday Thirsk Afternoon – Flat – Turf
28/7/2023 Friday York Evening – Flat – Turf
29/7/2023 Saturday York Afternoon – Flat – Turf
30/7/2023 Sunday Pontefract Afternoon – Flat – Turf
1/8/2023 Tuesday Beverley Afternoon – Flat – Turf
2/8/2023 Wednesday Redcar Afternoon – Flat – Turf
5/8/2023 Saturday Doncaster Afternoon – Flat – Turf
5/8/2023 Saturday Thirsk Afternoon – Flat – Turf
7/8/2023 Monday Ripon Afternoon – Flat – Turf
8/8/2023 Tuesday Ripon Evening – Flat – Turf
8/8/2023 Tuesday Catterick Bridge Afternoon – Flat – Turf
9/8/2023 Wednesday Pontefract Afternoon – Flat – Turf
11/8/2023 Friday Thirsk Afternoon – Flat – Turf
12/8/2023 Saturday Redcar Afternoon – Flat – Turf
16/8/2023 Wednesday Beverley Afternoon – Flat – Turf
17/8/2023 Thursday Beverley Afternoon – Flat – Turf
18/8/2023 Friday Thirsk Evening – Flat – Turf
19/8/2023 Saturday Doncaster Afternoon – Flat – Turf
19/8/2023 Saturday Ripon Afternoon – Flat – Turf
20/8/2023 Sunday Pontefract Afternoon – Flat – Turf
21/8/2023 Monday Catterick Bridge Afternoon – Flat – Turf
23/8/2023 Wednesday York Afternoon – Flat – Turf
24/8/2023 Thursday York Afternoon – Flat – Turf
25/8/2023 Friday York Afternoon – Flat – Turf
26/8/2023 Saturday Redcar Evening – Flat – Turf
26/8/2023 Saturday York Afternoon – Flat – Turf
27/8/2023 Sunday Beverley Afternoon – Flat – Turf
28/8/2023 Monday Ripon Afternoon – Flat – Turf
29/8/2023 Tuesday Ripon Afternoon – Flat – Turf
30/8/2023 Wednesday Catterick Bridge Afternoon – Flat – Turf
1/9/2023 Friday Thirsk Afternoon – Flat – Turf
2/9/2023 Saturday Beverley Afternoon – Flat – Turf
5/9/2023 Tuesday Ripon Evening – Flat – Turf
9/9/2023 Saturday Thirsk Afternoon – Flat – Turf
10/9/2023 Sunday York Afternoon – Flat – Turf
12/9/2023 Tuesday Catterick Bridge Afternoon – Flat – Turf
14/9/2023 Thursday Doncaster Afternoon – Flat – Turf
15/9/2023 Friday Doncaster Afternoon – Flat – Turf
16/9/2023 Saturday Doncaster Afternoon – Flat – Turf
17/9/2023 Sunday Doncaster Afternoon – Flat – Turf
18/9/2023 Monday Thirsk Afternoon – Flat – Turf
19/9/2023 Tuesday Redcar Afternoon – Flat – Turf
20/9/2023 Wednesday Beverley Afternoon – Flat – Turf
21/9/2023 Thursday Pontefract Afternoon – Flat – Turf
23/9/2023 Saturday Catterick Bridge Afternoon – Flat – Turf
23/9/2023 Saturday York Afternoon – Flat – Turf
26/9/2023 Tuesday Beverley Afternoon – Flat – Turf
27/9/2023 Wednesday Redcar Afternoon – Flat – Turf
28/9/2023 Thursday Pontefract Afternoon – Flat – Turf
30/9/2023 Saturday Ripon Afternoon – Flat – Turf
4/10/2023 Wednesday Catterick Bridge Afternoon – Flat – Turf
7/10/2023 Saturday Redcar Afternoon – Flat – Turf
9/10/2023 Monday Pontefract Afternoon – Flat – Turf
13/10/2023 Friday York Afternoon – Flat – Turf
14/10/2023 Saturday York Afternoon – Flat – Turf
18/10/2023 Wednesday Wetherby Afternoon – Jump – Turf
20/10/2023 Friday Redcar Afternoon – Flat – Turf
21/10/2023 Saturday Catterick Bridge Afternoon – Flat – Turf
23/10/2023 Monday Pontefract Afternoon – Flat – Turf
27/10/2023 Friday Doncaster Afternoon – Flat – Turf
28/10/2023 Saturday Doncaster Afternoon – Flat – Turf
30/10/2023 Monday Redcar Afternoon – Flat – Turf
31/10/2023 Tuesday Catterick Bridge Afternoon – Flat – Turf
3/11/2023 Friday Wetherby Afternoon – Jump – Turf
4/11/2023 Saturday Wetherby Afternoon – Jump – Turf
7/11/2023 Tuesday Redcar Afternoon – Flat – Turf
11/11/2023 Saturday Doncaster Afternoon – Flat – Turf
18/11/2023 Saturday Wetherby Afternoon – Jump – Turf
24/11/2023 Friday Catterick Bridge Afternoon – Jump – Turf
29/11/2023 Wednesday Wetherby Afternoon – Jump – Turf
1/12/2023 Friday Doncaster Afternoon – Jump – Turf
2/12/2023 Saturday Doncaster Afternoon – Jump – Turf
9/12/2023 Saturday Wetherby Afternoon – Jump – Turf
15/12/2023 Friday Doncaster Afternoon – Jump – Turf
16/12/2023 Saturday Doncaster Afternoon – Jump – Turf
19/12/2023 Tuesday Catterick Bridge Afternoon – Jump – Turf
26/12/2023 Tuesday Wetherby Afternoon – Jump – Turf
27/12/2023 Wednesday Wetherby Afternoon – Jump – Turf
28/12/2023 Thursday Catterick Bridge Afternoon – Jump – Turf
29/12/2023 Friday Doncaster Afternoon – Jump – Turf

Check out our guide for the full list of UK horse racing calendar fixtures for 2023.

Final Thoughts

The biggest horse racing meetings attract massive crowds in Yorkshire.

If you have never attended a horse racing venue near Yorkshire, we strongly recommend some of the biggest events like the 2022 Yorkshire Oaks and Yorkshire Cup 2022.

Whether you bet on the winner, second, or third positions, or even if your horse doesn’t place, race days in Yorkshire are always fun!

Searches Associated With Yorkshire Racecourses

  • horse racing in yorkshire
  • list of yorkshire racecourses
  • race courses in yorkshire
  • west yorkshire race courses

Popular Questions

Is Horse Racing Popular in Yorkshire?

Yorkshire is amongst the most passionate about horse racing in the United Kingdom.

Yorkshire has nine top-class racecourses, which is more than any other region in the UK.

How many horse racecourses are there in Yorkshire?

There are nine racecourses in Yorkshire.

The 9 Yorkshire racecourse names include Beverley, Catterick Races, Doncaster, Pontefract, Redcar, Ripon, Thirsk Racecourse, Wetherby and York Racecourse.

Horse racing in North Yorkshire?

Horse racing in North Yorkshire includes Thirsk, Ripon Racecourse, Catterick, York and Redcar racecourse.

The most popular North Yorkshire flat racecourse is York Racecourse.

Which Yorkshire racecourse has 6 letters?

The Yorkshire racecourse with six letters is the Thirsk racecourse.

What horses will you see at Yorkshire racecourses?

Many horse and stable owners enter their horses in races in Yorkshire, whether their colt, gelding, filly, or thoroughbred.

What handicap races are in Yorkshire?

A handicap is awarded based on the horse’s weight, as this is believed to impact the speed at which they can gallop every furlong.

In Yorkshire, handicapped races are divided from class 1 to class 6.

A maiden handicap is a race for racehorses that haven’t won a race based on their weight allocation or past form.

What is the Yorkshire Wonder Horse?

The Yorkshire Wonder Horse is the first horse that wins at all nine Yorkshire Racecourses from Saturday, 26th March 2022, to Sunday, 31st December 2023.

Both flat turf and jump races will be included in this event. The post prize is a whopping £100,000 that will be split between the owner, trainer, jockey and yard.

Where is the Ebor Festival held?

Ebor Festival is held at York races every year in August.

As the Founder of British Racecourses, I have a life-long passion for horse racing and have loved the sport as long as I can remember. I am also a keen racehorse owner and have worked in the gambling industry for several years. I set up British Racecourses with the desire to share my passion for racing with other like-minded people.