Golden Rose Stakes

James Dooley avatar

Written By:


The Golden Rose Stakes is a Listed flat race over six furlongs at Lingfield Park in November.

The Golden Rose Stakes takes place on Saturday 18th November 2023.

It is open to three-year-olds and upwards and takes place on the Polytrack surface.

Notable past winners include Valbchek (2013), Gifted Master (2017), Good Effort (2020, 2021) and Summerghand (2022).

Find out more about The Golden Rose Stakes:

Golden Rose Stakes

Race Overview – The  Golden Rose Stakes at Lingfield

Horses must be three years old or older to compete in the Listed Golden Rose Stakes.

It is planned to take place every November at Lingfield Park over a distance of 6 furlongs and 1 yard (1,028 metres).

Golden Rose Stakes 2022 Result

Check out the latest result from this race:

Famous Golden Rose Stakes Winners

The inaugural running of the Golden Rose Stakes in 2007 was won by Maltese Falcon, trained by Paul Cole and ridden by Nelson de Souza.

Duff won it the following year for Irish trainer Edward Lynam with Kevin Manning aboard.

Valbchek, the winner of the valuable Tattersalls Millions three-year-old Sprint in 2012, gained his only Listed Stakes victory here in 2013.

2017 winner Gifted Master was also a big Sales race winner in his younger days, taking the Tattersalls Millions two-year-old Trophy in 2015.

In 2018 he won the Stewards’ Cup at Goodwood at odds of 20-1. His career earnings exceeded £700,000 with eleven victories from 35 races under rules.

Good Effort became the first dual winner of the race in 2020/2021, trained by Ismail Mohammed.

In 2022 the race was won by another popular sprinter in Summerghand, trained by David O’Meara and ridden by Daniel Tudhope. He had won the Stewards’ Cup in 2020 and the Ayr Gold Cup in 2022. He followed his Ayr success by finishing second to Rohaan in the Group 3 Bengough Stakes at Ascot.

Key Golden Rose Stakes Trials

Winners of the Golden Rose Stakes come from a wide variety of races. This is an opportunity for good handicappers to win at Listed level.

It typically attracts horses that have been competing in the top sprint handicaps like the Wokingham Stakes, Stewards’ Cup and Ayr Gold Cup.

There have been five winning favourites in the last ten renewals of the Golden Rose Stakes; Intransigent (2014), Lord of The Land (2016), Good Effort (2020 and 2021) and Summerghand (2022). There have been a couple of surprise winners during the same period. Judicial won at 20-1 in 2019 and Valbchek returned at 14-1 in 2013.

There is no particular age group favoured in this race. Goken (2015) and Encrypted (2018) both won as three-year-olds while Judicial won at the age of seven.

Summerghand became the oldest winner in the race’s short history when scoring at the age of eight in 2022.

Golden Rose Stakes – Top Trainers and Jockeys

Four Trainers have won the Golden Rose Stakes twice; David Barron, David O’Meara, Hugo Palmer and Ismail Mohammed.

James Doyle is the only jockey to win the race twice, winning aboard Lord Of The Land in 2016 and Gifted Master in 2017.

Popular Questions

When is the Golden Rose Stakes?

The Golden Rose Stakes takes place on Saturday 18th November 2024.

This race is held at Lingfield Park on Churchill Stakes Day.

What are important facts about Golden Rose Stakes?

Here are some important facts about Golden Rose Stakes:

  • The Golden Rose Stakes is run at Lingfield Park, Great Britain
  • The Golden Rose Stakes is for horses aged 3 and over
  • The Golden Rose Stakes is a Listed flat horse race in Great Britain
  • The Golden Rose Stakes distance is 6 furlongs and 1 yard

Summary of the Golden Rose Stakes

Thank you for reading our Golden Rose Stakes guide.

We have looked at the history of the race, betting, odds, tips and more so you can enjoy the race whether betting or just watching!

Take a look at other races in November, and if you enjoy races at Lingfield Park then check out more races at Lingfield Racecourse.

Here are all articles related to the all-weather racing: