Pretty Polly Stakes

The Pretty Polly Stakes is a listed race for three-year-old fillies over a mile and a quarter. It takes place on 1000 Guineas day at Newmarket in late April or early May.

It is a recognised trial for the Epsom Oaks with Taghrooda being the last filly to win both races in 2014.

Other notable winners of the Pretty Polly include Dunfermline (1977), Indian Skimmer (1987), All At Sea (1992), Ouija Board (2004) and Talent (2013).

Find out more about the Pretty Polly Stakes:

Pretty Polly Stakes

Race Overview – Pretty Polly Stakes

The Pretty Polly Stakes is a listed racing event held on the third day of the 2022 Guineas Festival.

The race is named after Pretty Polly, the 1904 Triple Crown winner for fillies.

It was founded in 1962 and was first held at Newmarket’s mid-May meeting. In 1973, it was rescheduled for early May.

The Pretty Polly Stakes is a British Listed flat horse event for three-year-old fillies. It takes place on the Rowley Mile at Newmarket in late April or early May over a distance of 1 mile and 2 furlongs.

Pretty Polly Stakes Tips 2023

We will publish our best tips once the Pretty Polly Stakes odds have been released.

Pretty Polly Stakes Odds 2023

The 2022 Pretty Polly Stakes odds are listed below:

The Pretty Polly Stakes odds have yet to be released.

Pretty Polly Stakes Previous Winners

Year Winner Jockey Trainer
2011 Dorcas Lane Paul Hanagan Lucy Wadham
2012 Kailani Mickael Barzalona Mahmood Al Zarooni
2013 Talent Jim Crowley Ralph Beckett
2014 Taghrooda Paul Hanagan John Gosden
2015 Jazzi Top Frankie Dettori John Gosden
2016 Swiss Range Frankie Dettori John Gosden
2017 Horseplay David Probert Andrew Balding
2018 Lah Ti Dar Frankie Dettori John Gosden
2019 Maqsad Jim Crowley William Haggas
2020 Run Wild[b] Oisin Murphy John Gosden
2021 Mystery Angel Ben Curtis George Boughey

Famous King Charles II Stakes Winners

One of the most talented King Charles II Stakes winners was Henry Cecil’s Ali-Royal, successful in 1996 under Willie Ryan. He also won the Ben Marshall Stakes but reached his peak in 1997 with victories in the Earl of Sefton Stakes and the Group 1 Sussex Stakes. He was rated 127 by Timeform after that success.

Trade Fair was a son of 2000 Guineas winner Zafonic and finished third in the Dewhurst Stakes as a juvenile. He won this race by two and a half lengths under Richard Hughes in 2003 and followed up in the Group 3 Criterion Stakes. He was beaten favourite in the Sussex Stakes later in the season and never quite fulfilled his potential.

2006 winner Jeremy won the Jersey Stakes at Royal Ascot next time and the Group 2 Betfred Mile at Sandown in 2007. He failed by only a short-head to win the Group 1 Queen Anne Stakes later that year.

Key King Charles II Stakes Trials

It is difficult to pinpoint any particular trials for this race, although previous form at Newmarket is a definite plus. More than half of the last twenty winners of this race had previous form at this venue. Only three of the last twenty King Charles II Stakes winners managed to win next time out.

King Charles II Stakes Betting Trends

Favourites have a good record in the King Charles II Stakes, winning ten of the last twenty renewals. This includes five of the last six; Thikriyaat (2016), Taamol (2017), Bear Slam (2018), Jash (2019) and Bellosa (2021). There has been the occasional turn-up including Richard Hannon’s Coulsty at 16-1 in 2014. The longest priced winner in the history of the race was Field Of Dream at 33-1 in 2010.

King Charles II Stakes – Top Trainers and Jockeys

Sir Michael Stoute is the leading trainer in the history of the King Charles II Stakes with four winners; Magical Strike (1989), Jeremy (2006), Thikriyaat (2016) and Taamol (2017). Richard Hannon Jnr also won this race in successive seasons with Coulsty (2014) and Tupi (2015).

No jockey has managed to win this race more than three times, that record currently held by Ray Cochrane who won it for the last time on Eurolink Thunder in 1993.

Betting on the King Charles II Stakes

The King Charles II Stakes invariably seems to follow the form book. It is worth looking out for a three-year-old with progressive form which could possibly make its mark in Group races as the season progresses.

Betfred Betting App

Betfred Betting AppBET £10 GET £60 IN BONUSES

New UK customers only. Register using the promo code BETFRED60, deposit and place first bet of £10+ on Sports (cumulative Evens+) within 7 days of registration. First bet must be on Sports. £20 in Free Bets to be used on Sports, £10 in Free Bets to be used on Lotto and 50 Free Spins (20p per spin) credited within 48 hours of bet settlement. Further £20 in Free Bets credited 5 days after settlement. Bonuses have a 7-day expiry. Payment restrictions apply. SMS verification and/or Proof of I.D and address may be required.


bet365 Betting App

bet365 Betting AppBET £10 GET £50 IN FREE BETS


BetVictor Betting App

BetVictor Betting AppBET £10 GET £40

18+ New customers only. Deposit, opt in and place a £10 qualifying bet on Horse Racing at odds of 2.00 or greater within 7 days of opening a new account; excludes cashed out bets. Receive 3x £10 Horse Racing Free Bets, valid on set events only at odds 2.00 or greater. Plus, a £10 Slot Bonus, selected games, wager 20x to withdraw a max of £250. Bonuses expire in 7 days. Card payments only. T&Cs Apply. Please Gamble Responsibly.


Coral Betting App

Coral Betting AppGET £20 IN FREE BETS

18+ Eligible UK+IRE players. Paypal & some deposit & bet types excl. Min first £5 bet within 14 days of account reg at min odds 1/2 = 4x £5 free bets. Free bets valid for 7 days, stake not returned. No cashout, restrictions + T&Cs apply.


Parimatch Horse Racing

Parimatch Horse RacingBET £10 GET £35

18+ New customers only. Opt in and bet £10 on any Horse Racing market at odds 2.00+ in 7 days. No cash out. Get 6x £5 Horse Racing free bets+ £5 slot bonus, 20x wagering to withdraw max £250. Free bets expire in 24h and bonuses in 7 days. Card payments only. | | Please gamble responsibly.


Unibet Betting App

Unibet Betting AppBET £10 GET £40 IN FREE BETS

New customers only. 18+,



To come.

Guineas Festival Related Posts

Here are all the related articles to the Guineas Festival 2022:

If you do choose to bet, please bet responsibly.

As the Founder of British Racecourses, I have a life-long passion for horse racing and have loved the sport as long as I can remember. I am also a keen racehorse owner and have worked in the gambling industry for several years. I set up British Racecourses with the desire to share my passion for racing with other like-minded people.