Chalice Stakes

The Chalice Stakes is a listed race over a mile and a half at Newmarket in August. It is restricted to fillies and mares aged three years and upwards.

The Chalice Stakes takes place on Saturday 5th August 2023.

Love Everlasting became the first horse to win the race twice in 2001 and 2002. Other notable winners include Punctilious (2005) and Seal of Approval (2013).

Find out more about the Chalice Stakes:

Chalice Stakes

Race Overview – The Challice Stakes

The Listed Chalice Stakes is a fillies and mares race that takes place every August at Newmarket over a distance of 1 mile and 4 furlongs (2,414 metres).

Check out more listed horse races.

Chalice Stakes 2023

The Chalice Stakes 2023 odds are below:

  • The odds for this race have not yet been released.

Chalice Stakes Tips 2023

Our Chalice Stakes tips are below:

  • 2 points to win for TBC at odds of TBC
  • 1 point each way for TBC at odds of TBC

There are horses from the Chalice Stakes that will also run in other races through the year so stay updated on them and place ante-post bets.

Chalice Stakes Previous Winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer Time
2000Miss Lorilaw3Michael HillsCharles Hills2:31.23
2001Love Everlasting3Joe FanningMark Johnston2:31.14
2002Love Everlasting4Kevin DarleyMark Johnston2:34.28
2003Floreeda3Willie RyanHenry Cecil2:31.79
2004Sahool3Richard HillsMarcus Tregoning2:30.29
2005Punctilious4Kerrin McEvoySaeed bin Suroor2:33.55
2006Fermion3Colm O'DonoghueAidan O'Brien2:31.14
2007Queen's Best4Ryan MooreMichael Stoute2:30.83
2008Suzi's Decision3John EganPaul D'Arcy2:32.83
2009Polly's Mark3William BuickClive Cox2:36.56
2010Pachattack4Tom QueallyGerard Butler2:32.69
2011Sea Of Heartbreak4Steve DrowneRoger Charlton2:33.22
2012Ambivalent3Andrea AtzeniRoger Varian2:34.96
2013Seal of Approval4George BakerJames Fanshawe2:30.89
2014Silk Sari4Andrea AtzeniLuca Cumani2:34.93
2015Gretchen3Robert HavlinJohn Gosden2:31.63
2016Fireglow3Silvestre de SousaMark Johnston2:33.09
2017To Eternity4James DoyleJohn Gosden2:34.03
2018Crimson Rosette4Stevie DonohoeCharlie Fellowes2:30.63
2019Love So Deep3John EganJane Chapple-Hyam2:31.76
2020Katara3Oisin MurphySir Michael Stoute2:27.26
2021Save A Forest3Callum ShepherdRoger Varian2:27.36
2022Emotion3Andrea AtzeniJohn and Thady Gosden2:31.64

Previous Chalice Stakes Result

Famous Chalice Stakes Winners

The Chalice Stakes was first run at Newbury in 2000 with victory going to Miss Lorilaw, trained by Charles Hills and ridden by Michael Hills. The race continued to be staged at the Berkshire track until being moved to Newmarket in 2015.

Love Everlasting won the second and third renewals for Mark Johnston. In 2001 she won here after finishing second in the listed Aphrodite Stakes at Newmarket. She did not win again until returning to Newbury in 2002, although she had finished second in a Group 3 at Ascot the previous Autumn. She won the Group 3 Princess Royal Willmott Dixon Stakes on the final start of her career in October 2002.

2005 winner Punctilious was a high-class filly owned by Godolphin. She won the Musidora Stakes and Ribblesdale Stakes in 2004 and was third to Ouija Board in the Epsom Oaks. The following season she won the Group 1 Yorkshire Oaks.

Seal of Approval won the race in 2013 for James Fanshawe and George Baker. After winning this race she was an unlucky loser in the Park Hill Stakes at Doncaster, clipping heels and falling with a furlong to run. She made amends by winning the Group 1 British Champions Fillies & Mares Stakes at Ascot in October. Starting at 16-1, she beat a high-class field that included Oaks winner Talent and Prix de L’Opera winner Dalkala.

Key Chalice Stakes Trials

The Chalice Stakes often attracts fillies who have been racing in higher-grade races. 2021 winner Save A Forest had finished a remote fourth to Snowfall in the Epsom Oaks on her previous start. 2022 winner Emotion had run in the Queen’s Vase at Royal Ascot.

The Aphrodite Stakes at the July meeting is another useful guide. Dual winner Love Everlasting and 2019 winner Love So Deep are among those to have contested that race.

Chalice Stakes Betting Trends

Favourites have a poor record in the Chalice Stakes. Only Katara (2020) has won as the clear market leader in the last ten seasons. Silk Sari (2014) won as the 9-4 joint-favourite for Luca Cumani and Andrea Atzeni.

However, it rarely produces a shock result with Safe A Forest (2021) and Emotion (2022) being the longest-priced winners during that period at 13-2. Six of the last ten renewals were won by three-year-olds and the remaining four went to four-year-olds. Official winning ratings varied between 101 (Silk Sari) and 108 (To Eternity 2017).

Chalice Stakes – Top Trainers and Jockeys

Two trainers have won the Chalice Stakes on three occasions; Mark Johnston and John Gosden.

Johnston’s victories came with Love Everlasting (2001 and 2002) and Fireglow (2016). Gosden won it with Gretchen (2015), To Eternity (2017) and Emotion (2022). The leading jockey is Andrea Atzeni, successful on Ambivalent (2012), Silk Sari (2014) and Emotion (2022).

Betting on the Chalice Stakes

The Chalice Stakes has been won by some high-class fillies and mares.

It is a little surprising that favourites have such a poor record in this event, although most winners have been in the first three in the market. If you are looking to place a bet check out our guide to UK betting sites.

Summary of the Newmarket Chalice Stakes

Thank you for checking out our Chalice Stakes guide.

We have looked at the history of the race, betting trends, odds, tips and more – so you all have the information you need.

Popular Questions

Where is the Chalice Stakes held?

The Chalice Stakes is held at Newmarket Racecourse.

Related August Articles


As the Founder of British Racecourses, I have a life-long passion for horse racing and have loved the sport as long as I can remember. I am also a keen racehorse owner and have worked in the gambling industry for several years. I set up British Racecourses with the desire to share my passion for racing with other like-minded people.