Foundation Stakes

In Great Britain, horses must be three years old or older to compete in the Listed Foundation Stakes flat horse race.

It is set to take place every September at Goodwood over a distance of 1 mile, 1 furlong, and 197 yards (1,991 metres).

It was conducted in 2011 under the sponsorship of the Tanqueray Stakes.

Find out more about the Foundation Stakes:

Foundation Stakes 2023 Odds

The Foundation Stakes odds are listed below:

3.35 Goodwood (Race 4) - Alcohol Free v Order Of Australia
  • Date: Wednesday 27th of July 2022
  • Time: 15:35
  • Details: 2 Runners Flat
Alcohol Free
Order Of Australia

Foundation Stakes Tips

The Foundation Stakes tips are below:

2 points to win for TBC at odds of TBC
1 point each way for TBC at odds of TBC

Many Foundation Stakes horses will race in more races throughout the years. Stay updated on the horses and place ante-post bets if you want to wager on them.

Foundation Stakes Previous Winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer Time
1988Alwuhush3Ray CochraneJohn Dunlop2:09.42
1989Monastery3Ray CochraneSusan Piggott2:11.41
1990Noble Patriarch3John ReidJohn Dunlop2:13.24
1991Perpendicular3Willie RyanHenry Cecil2:12.43
1992King's Loch3Willie RyanHenry Cecil2:15.16
1994LuhukRichard HughesJohn Dunlop2:09.25
1995RevereRichard QuinnPaul Cole2:11.08
1996HagwahMichael RobertsBen Hanbury2:08.93
1997Danish RhapsodyPaul EdderyLady Herries2:09.43
1998Danish RhapsodyPaul EdderyLady Herries2:08.01
1999Diamond WhiteTim SprakeMick Ryan2:16.32
2000AlbarahinRichard HillsMarcus Tregoning2:14.10
2001Mont Rocher6Kieren FallonJohn Hammond2:07.68
2002Rawyaan3Richard HillsJohn Gosden2:04.19
2003Imtiyaz4Frankie DettoriSaeed bin Suroor2:06.06
2004Alkaadhem4Richard HillsMarcus Tregoning2:11.62
2005Etesaal5Frankie DettoriSaeed bin Suroor2:05.42
2006Imperial Stride5Kerrin McEvoySaeed bin Suroor2:05.91
2007Kirklees3Frankie DettoriSaeed bin Suroor2:07.99
2008(dh)Hearthstead MaisonTranquil Tiger44Ryan MooreTom QueallyMark JohnstonHenry Cecil2:05.19
2009Twice Over4Tom QueallyHenry Cecil2:05.47
2010Holberg4Frankie DettoriSaeed bin Suroor2:05.06
2011Hunter's Light3Ted DurcanSaeed bin Suroor2:12.51
2012Primevere4James DoyleRoger Charlton2:09.69
2013Grandeur4Ryan MooreJeremy Noseda2:06.60
2014Grandeur5Ryan MooreJeremy Noseda2:05.80
2015Battalion5Pat CosgraveWilliam Haggas2:13.57
2016Sky Hunter6William BuickSaeed bin Suroor2:07.24
2017Monarchs Glen3Robert TartJohn Gosden2:12.23
2018Gabr3Jim CrowleyMichael Stoute2:09.76
2019Air Pilot10Harry BentleyRalph Beckett2:16.59
2020Anna Nerium5Sean LeveyRichard Hannon Jr.2:11.90
2021Victory Chime6Hector CrouchRalph Beckett2:05.89
2022Royal Fleet4William BuickCharlie Appleby2:06.86

Foundation Stakes Previous Result

Popular Questions

Where is the Foundation Stakes held?

The Foundation Stakes is held at Goodwood Racecourse.

What distance is the Foundation Stakes?

The Foundations Stakes has a distance of 1 mile, 1 furlong, and 197 yards.

Summary of the Foundation Stakes

Thank you for reading our Foundation Stakes guide.

Related September Articles


As the Founder of British Racecourses, I have a life-long passion for horse racing and have loved the sport as long as I can remember. I am also a keen racehorse owner and have worked in the gambling industry for several years. I set up British Racecourses with the desire to share my passion for racing with other like-minded people.