Roses Stakes

In Great Britain, two-year-old horses can compete in the Listed Roses Stakes flat horse race.

The Roses Stakes takes place on Saturday 26th August 2023.

It is scheduled to be run at York over a distance of 5 furlongs (1,006 metres) in August of every year.

Presently, it takes place on the final day of York’s four-day Ebor Festival conference.

Find out more about the Roses Stakes:

Roses Stakes 2023 Odds

The odds for the Roses Stakes are listed below:

These odds have not yet been released.

Roses Stakes Tips

The Roses Stakes tips are below:

2 points to win for TBC at odds of TBC
1 point each way for TBC at odds of TBC

Many Roses Stakes horses will race in more races throughout the years. Stay updated on the horses and place ante-post bets if you want to wager on them.

Roses Stakes Previous Winners

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time
1988Shuttlecock CornerGeorge DuffieldPaul Felgate0:57.84
1989Old AlliancePat EdderyJeremy Tree0:58.56
1990MujadilWillie CarsonRobert Armstrong0:58.82
1991Another EpisodeJohn CarrollJack Berry1:00.85
1992Sabre RattlerPat EdderyJack Berry0:58.99
1993Bid For BlueWalter SwinburnRichard Hannon Sr.1:00.15
1994Raah AlgharbWalter SwinburnMichael Stoute0:59.55
1995MubhijWillie CarsonBarry Hills0:59.01
1996JanibRichard HillsHarry Thomson Jones0:59.46
1997Bay PrinceJohn CarrollMick Channon1:00.30
1998Red PrairieMicky FentonMichael Bell0:58.48
1999Buy Or SellJohn CarrollTim Easterby1:00.46
2000Bouncing BowdlerKevin DarleyMark Johnston0:59.10
2001PepperoniMichael RobertsTim Easterby0:58.84
2002Sir Albert[a]Olivier PeslierJeremy Noseda0:59.59
2003Howick FallsFrankie DettoriDavid Loder0:58.47
2004Dance NightGraham GibbonsBryan McMahon1:02.13
2005TabaretDean McKeownRichard Whitaker0:57.88
2006Not For MeJohn EganTim Pitt0:58.78
2007Captain GerrardRyan MooreBryan Smart1:00.30
2008no race 2008 [b]
2009Star RoverJohn EganDavid Evans0:57.33
2010New PlanetKieren FallonJohn Quinn0:58.93
2011My PropellerFrankie DettoriPeter Chapple-Hyam0:58.41
2012HoyamJamie SpencerMichael Bell1:00.22
2013Hot StreakJamie SpencerKevin Ryan1:01.22
2014Mind of MadnessJamie SpencerDavid Brown0:58.58
2015Shadow HunterPhillip MakinPaul D'Arcy0:59.20
2016Big Time BabyFrankie DettoriTom Dascombe0:57.11
2017Sound And SilenceJames DoyleCharlie Appleby0:59.19
2018Well Done FoxJim CrowleyRichard Hannon Jr.0:58.90
2019Alligator AlleyDonnacha O'BrienJoseph O'Brien0:57.69
2020Acklam ExpressTom MarquandNigel Tinkler0:59.48
2021AtagirlDaniel TudhopeKarl Burke0:58.59
2022Treasure TroveBilly LeePaddy Twomey0:57.71

Roses Stakes Previous Result

Summary of the Roses Stakes

Thank you for reading our Roses Stakes guide.

Check out more listed horse races in the UK.

Popular Questions

Where is the Roses Stakes held?

The Roses Stakes is held at York Racecourse.

Related August Articles


As the Founder of British Racecourses, I have a life-long passion for horse racing and have loved the sport as long as I can remember. I am also a keen racehorse owner and have worked in the gambling industry for several years. I set up British Racecourses with the desire to share my passion for racing with other like-minded people.