Steventon Stakes

In Great Britain, horses must be three years old or older to compete in the Steventon Stakes, a Listed flat horse race.

The Steventon Stakes takes place on Saturday 22nd July 2023.

It takes contested every year in July at Newbury over a distance of one mile and two furlongs (2,012 metres). Bet365 is the event’s current sponsor.

Find out more about the Steventon Stakes:

Steventon Stakes 2023 Odds

Here are the latest odds for the Steventon Stakes in July 2023:

  • There is no open book of odds in the ante-post market for this event yet

Steventon Stakes Tips

Here are some tips for Steventon Stakes in July 2023:

  • 2 points to win for TBC at odds of TBC
  • 1 point each way for TBC at odds of TBC

Later in the year, some of the horses in the Steventon Stakes will compete in other races. Keep up with the horses and, if you want to bet on them, place ante-post bets.

Steventon Stakes Previous Winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer Time
1988Polar Gap3Willie CarsonLuca Cumani2:10.77
1989Citidancer3Pat EdderyHenry Cecil2:04.91
1990Madame Dubois3Tony McGloneHenry Cecil2:06.82
1991Adversary3Pat EdderyGuy Harwood2:05.25
1992Peto3Pat EdderyHenry Cecil2:11.46
1992Adam Smith4Frankie DettoriLuca Cumani2:11.46
1993Bobzao4Richard QuinnTerry Mills2:05.43
1994Luhuk3Willie CarsonJohn Dunlop2:05.33
1995Ihtiram3Willie CarsonJohn Dunlop2:08.42
1996Wall Street3John ReidSaeed bin Suroor2:01.29
1997Arabian Story4David HarrisonLord Huntingdon2:01.42
1998Chester House3Kieren FallonHenry Cecil2:05.92
1999Rhapsodist3Olivier PeslierJohn Gosden2:04.65
2000Claxon4Gary CarterJohn Dunlop2:03.38
2001Sakhee4Frankie DettoriSaeed bin Suroor2:03.63
2002Highdown3Martin DwyerMarcus Tregoning2:04.43
2003Mubtaker6Willie SuppleMarcus Tregoning2:02.34
2004Muqbil4Richard HillsJohn Dunlop2:04.12
2005Welcome Stranger5Luke FletcherJames Eustace2:03.53
2006Tam Lin3Ryan MooreMichael Stoute2:04.46
2008Passage of Time4Ted DurcanHenry Cecil2:07.35
2009Crime Scene6Ahmed AjtebiSaeed bin Suroor2:12.06
2010Red Badge3Richard MullenRichard Hannon Sr.2:07.10
2011Dux Scholar3Ryan MooreMichael Stoute2:10.18
2012Poet7Eddie AhernClive Cox2:18.71
2013Royal Empire4Silvestre De SousaSaeed bin Suroor2:06.33
2014Amralah4Andrea AtzeniMick Channon2:08.59
2015Intilaaq3Paul HanaganRoger Varian2:03.63
2016Scottish4James DoyleCharlie Appleby2:07.23
2017What About Carlo6Charles BishopEve Johnson Houghton2:12.78
2018Emotionless5William BuickCharlie Appleby2:04.84
2019Fox Chairman3Silvestre de SousaAndrew Balding2:10.08
2020Global Giant5Frankie DettoriJohn Gosden2:04.58
2021Real World4Marco GhianiSaeed bin Suroor2:05.09
2022Grocer Jack5Tom MarquandWilliam Haggas2:02.74

What Happened In The Previous Steventon Stakes

Summary of the Steventon Stakes

Thank you for reading our Steventon Stakes guide.

Popular Questions

Where is the Steventon Stakes held?

The Steventon Stakes is held at Newbury Racecourse.

Related July Articles


As the Founder of British Racecourses, I have a life-long passion for horse racing and have loved the sport as long as I can remember. I am also a keen racehorse owner and have worked in the gambling industry for several years. I set up British Racecourses with the desire to share my passion for racing with other like-minded people.