Winter Derby Trial

In Great Britain, horses must be four years old or older to compete in the Winter Derby Trial, a Listed flat horse race.

The Winter Derby Trial (now run as the Tandridge Stakes) was introduced, as the name suggests, as a prep race for the valuable Winter Derby on the all-weather.

It now takes place over a mile at Lingfield Park in February.

There have been three dual winners of the race; Grand Passion (2004, 2006), Grendisar (2015, 2016) and Bangkok (2020, 2021).

The Winter Derby Trail competes on Saturday 4th February 2023. and is one of the top-rated races in February.

Find out more about the Winter Derby Trial:

Winter Derby Trial

Race Overview – Winter Derby Trail

The Winter Derby Trail is held in February at Lingfield Park over a distance of one mile and two furlongs (2,012 metres). Prior to 2007, it was run as an ungraded conditions race.

Winter Derby Trial 2023 Odds

The Winter Derby Trial odds are listed below:

These odds have not yet been released.

Check out the betting odds at Lingfield Races today.

Winter Derby Trial Tips

The Winter Derby Trial tips are below:

2 points to win for TBC at odds of TBC
1 point each way for TBC at odds of TBC

Many Winter Derby Trial horses will race in more races throughout the years. Stay updated on the horses and place ante-post bets if you want to wager on them.

If you are looking for more racing tips for events taking place at Lingfield Racecourse then check out our Lingfield Park tips page.

For all Lingfield races, our finest racing tipsters give free horse racing tips!

Winter Derby Trial Previous Winners

Check out the previous winners for this race:

No table found

Winter Derby Trial 2022 Result

Check out the latest result from this race:

Famous Winter Derby Trial Winners

The Winter Derby Trial was first run at Lingfield in 1999. It was over ten furlongs, the same trip as the Winter Derby which takes place three weeks’ later. Although five horses won both races, it was decided that it should be replaced with a one-mile Listed event for four-year-olds and upwards in 2023.

Zanay (2000) was the first horse to win both the trial and the Winter Derby, trained by Jacqui Doyle and ridden by Tom McLaughlin. The other four winners of both races were Adiemus (2002), Eccentric (2005), Grendisar (2016) and Wissahickon (2019).

Grand Passion was the first dual winner in 2004 and 2006, trained by Geoff Wragg at Newmarket. He finished runner-up in the Winter Derby in 2006 behind Sri Diamond and in 2007 to Gentleman’s Deal. Grendisar (2015, 2016) was another all-weather specialist, trained by Marco Botti. He finished runner-up to Godolphin’s Tryster in the 2015 Winter Derby before going one better the following year at the expense of Maverick Wave.

Bangkok was the last dual winner in 2020 and 2021. He was a promising three-year-old trained by Andrew Balding, winning the Sandown Classic Trial before disappointing in the Epsom Derby. He finished second to Japan in the King Edward VII Stakes and gained the biggest win of his career in the Group 2 York Stakes in 2021. The first running of the Tandridge Stakes was won by Manaafith, a four-year-old daughter of Dubawi trained by Roger Varian.

Key form races for the Winter Derby Trial

The Winter Derby Trial was relatively successful in terms of providing an ideal prep race for the Group 3 Winter Derby. It remains to be seen whether the new race will attract larger fields with only six lining up in 2023. The shortened trip makes this more of a trial for the All-Weather Fillies’ and Mares’ Championships Conditions Stakes. Manaafith was made 11-10 favourite for that race at Newcastle in 2023 but faded to finish only fourth behind Queen Aminatu.

Winter Derby Trial Betting Trends

When run as the Winter Derby Trial, favourites had won five of the last ten renewals with four of those returning odds-on. The longest priced winner during that spell was 5-1 with both Grendisar (2014) and Utmost (2018) returning at those odds. It is obviously too early to say whether a similar trend will follow in the new format.

Winter Derby Trial – Top Trainers and Jockeys

Marco Botti had a great record in the Winter Derby Trial with five winners; Re Barolo (2009), Gitano Hernando (2010), Planteur (2013) and Grendisar (2015, 2016). John Gosden and Andrew Balding each won it twice within the last six years. Keiren Fallon won the Winter Derby Trial three times; Parasol (2003), Grand Passion (2004) and Gitano Hernando (2010).

Betting on the Winter Derby Trial

The Tandridge Stakes will attract more speed horses than the Winter Derby Trial but it is hard to see it becoming any more competitive. This looks set to remain a good race for the market leaders and a useful pipe-opener for horses bound for the All-Weather Championships.

Facts about the Winter Derby Trial

  • The Winter Derby Trial is a Listed flat horse race in the United Kingdom open to horses aged 4 and over.
  • It is run over a distance of 1 mile and 2 furlongs (2,012 metres) at Lingfield Park, and it takes place annually in February.
  • The race was first run in 1999.

Summary of the Winter Derby Trial

Thank you for checking out our Winter Derby Trial guide.

We hope you found everything you needed for this race in our review.

Related All Weather Racing Articles

Here are all articles related to the all-weather racing:


James Dooley is a UK entrepreneur who founded British Racecourses because of his love for horse racing. James owns 14 racehorses through Dooley Thoroughbreds, so he understands all aspects of horse racing, from wagering bets, and booking jockeys to sourcing the best horse racing trainers. James Dooley's connections give him inside information on horse racing tips and best chances of a winner.