Grand National Previous Winners

Researching previous Grand National winners is a useful resource when looking at who to select for this year’s Grand National event.

There is a common phrase “history repeats itself” and looking at previous winners and the history of the iconic race is a great source of information for making judgements.

The Grand National has been taking place annually since the second world war, with two exceptions – in 1993 the race was declared void following a false start, while Grand National 2020 was cancelled due to COVID concerns.

The National Hunt Racing event held at Aintree Racecourse is popular worldwide and many of the biggest online bookmakers offer some amazing Grand National betting promotions in December 2022.

Reminiscing over previous classic races of the Grand National is what many horse racing fans enjoy doing.

In our Grand National Previous Winners guide, you can find past Grand National winners from the last few decades including their age, weight, horse racing trainer, horse racing winning jockeys and starting price odds.

Grand National Previous Winners

Grand National Last Years Winners

Here are the most recent winners of the Grand National iconic horse racing event.

2021 Grand National Winner

The winner of the 2021 Grand National was Minella Times.

The 8-year-old 2021 Grand National winner was ridden by Rachael Blackmore and trained by Henry De Bromhead.

Minella Times won the Grand National race with a weight of 10-3 and was an 11-1 chance in the betting odds.

2020 Grand National Winner

The 2020 Grand National was cancelled due to the COVID coronavirus outbreak.

2019 Grand National Winner

The winner of the 2019 Grand National was Tiger Roll.

The 9-year-old 2019 Grand National winner was ridden by Davy Russell and trained by Gordon Elliott.

Tiger Roll won the Grand National race with a weight of 11-5 and was a 4-1 favourite in the betting odds.

2018 Grand National Winner

The winner of the 2018 Grand National was Tiger Roll.

The 8-year-old 2018 Grand National winner was ridden by Davy Russell and trained by Gordon Elliott.

Tiger Roll won the Grand National race with a weight of 10-13 and was a 14-1 chance in the betting odds.

2017 Grand National Winner

The winner of the 2017 Grand National was One For Arthur.

2016 Grand National Winner

The winner of the 2016 Grand National was Rule The World.

2015 Grand National Winner

The winner of the 2015 Grand National was Many Clouds.

2014 Grand National Winner

The winner of the 2014 Grand National was Pineau De Re.

History of Grand National Winners

Year Winning Horse Age Weight Trainer Jockey SP
2021 Minella Times 8 10-3 H De Bromhead Rachael Blackmore 11/1
2019 Tiger Roll 9 11-5 Gordon Elliott Davy Russell 4/1
2018 Tiger Roll 8 10-13 Gordon Elliott Davy Russell 14/1
2017 One For Arthur 8 10-11 Lucinda Russell Derek Fox 14/1
2016 Rule The World 9 10-07 Mouse Morris David Mullins 33/1
2015 Many Clouds 8 11-09 Oliver Sherwood Leighton Aspell 25/1
2014 Pineau De Re 11 10-06 Dr Richard Newland Leighton Aspell 25/1
2013 Auroras Encore 11 10-03 Mrs S Smith Ryan Mania 66/1
2012 Neptune Collonges 11 11-06 P Nicholls D Jacob 33/1
2011 Ballabriggs 10 11-00 D McCain J Maguire 14/1
2010 Don’t Push It 10 11-05 J O’Neill AP McCoy 10/1JF
2009 Mon Mome 9 11-00 Miss V Williams L Treadwell 100/1
2008 Comply Or Die 9 10-09 D E Pipe T Murphy 7/1JF
2007 Silver Birch 10 10-06 G Elliott R M Power 33/1
2006 Numbersixvalverde 10 10-08 M Brassil N P Madden 11/1
2005 Hedgehunter 9 11-01 W P Mullins R Walsh 7/1F
2004 Amberleigh House 12 10-10 D McCain G Lee 16/1
2003 Monty´s Pass 10 10-07 JJ Mangan B J Geraghty 16/1
2002 Bindaree 8 10-04 N A Twiston-Davies J Culloty 20/1
2001 Red Marauder 11 10-11 N B Mason Richard Guest 33/1
2000 Papillon 9 10-12 T M Walsh R Walsh 10/1
1999 Bobbyjo 9 10-00 T Carberry P Carberry 10/1
1998 Earth Summit 10 10-05 N A Twiston-Davies C Llewellyn 7/1F
1997 Lord Gyllene 9 10-00 S A Brookshaw A Dobbin 14/1
1996 Rough Quest 10 10-07 T Casey M A Fitzgerald 7/1F
1995 Royal Athlete 12 10-06 Mrs J Pitman J F Titley 40/1

Popular Questions

Has a 12 year old won the Grand National?

There have been three 12 year-old winners of the Grand National.

The 3 winners of the Grand National at twelves years old include:

  • Little Polveir (1989)
  • Royal Athlete (1995)
  • Amberleigh House (2004)

Which horses have won the Grand National more than once?

Nine different horses have won more than one Grand National race.

Red Rum is the only horse to win the race three times.

The nine racehorses to of won the race more than once include:

  • Red Rum
  • Tiger Roll
  • Reynoldstown
  • Poethlyn
  • Manifesto
  • The Colonel
  • The Lamb
  • Peter Simple
  • Abd-El-Kader

Has a 100-1 horse ever won the Grand National?

Punters enjoy backing an outsider and there have been many long priced horses winning the Grand National.

The longest odds for a winning horse at the Grand National is 100/1 and was achieved by

  • Tipperary Tim (1928)
  • Gregalach (1929)
  • Caughoo (1947)
  • Foinavon (1967)
  • Mon Mome (2009)

Summary of Grand National Past Results

The past results of the Grand National might help your decisions on who to select in this year’s renewal of the Aintree Grand National.

The winner of the great race always throws up some heart-warming stories. It is a race that stops a nation, we cannot wait for the story of this years winner.

Related 2022 Grand National Betting Articles

Here are all the related articles to the Randox Grand National 2022.

If you do choose to bet, please bet responsibly.

As the Founder of British Racecourses, I have a life-long passion for horse racing and have loved the sport as long as I can remember. I am also a keen racehorse owner and have worked in the gambling industry for several years. I set up British Racecourses with the desire to share my passion for racing with other like-minded people.