Maghull Novices’ Chase

Horses five years old or older may compete in the Grade 1 National Hunt steeplechase known as the Maghull Novices’ Chase in Great Britain.

The Maghull Novices’ Chase takes place on Saturday 15th April 2023.

There are twelve fences to jump during the race, which is raced at Aintree over a distance of roughly 2 miles (1 mile 7 furlong and 176 yards, or 3,178 metres).

Each year, it is planned to have the novice chaser race during the Grand National meeting in early April.

Maghull Novices’ Chase

Maghull Novices’ Chase 2023 Odds

The Maghull Novices’ Chase odds are listed below:

The odds for this race have not yet been released.

Maghull Novices’ Chase Tips

The Maghull Novices’ Chase tips are below:

  • 2 points to win for TBC at odds of TBC
  • 1 point each way for TBC at odds of TBC

Many Maghull Novices’ Chase horses will race in more races throughout the years. Stay updated on the horses and place ante-post bets if you want to wager on them.

Check out our Aintree Racecourse betting tips page if you are looking for tips on more events at Aintree.

Maghull Novices’ Chase Previous Winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer
1954Evian6E McKenzieVincent O'Brien
1955Wise Child7G MilburnC Bewicke
1956Sir Ken9T MolonyW Stephenson
1957Northern King6M PumfreyE Cousins
1958Just Awake6A FreemanPeter Cazalet
1959Liquidator7P FarrellW Hall
1960Cupid's Charge5A FreemanPeter Cazalet
1961Peacetown7Stan MellorG Owen
1962Rye Light10Paddy FarrellW Hall
1963Border Sparkle7T McGinleyN Robinson
1964Brand X9R EdwardsFrank Cundell
1965Oedipe7Stan MellorPeter Cazalet
1966Roe Gemmel7G Macmillan[a]R Fairbairn
1967Glenn6Terry BiddlecombeFred Rimell
1968Brian's Best8R EdwardsG Owen
1969Rainbow Cottage6T S MurphyArthur Stephenson
1970Tenterclef8Barry BroganP Ransom
1971Vegeo8David NicholsonArthur Stephenson
1972Explicit8Tommy StackL Shedden
1973Line Regiment9J BourkeW D Francis
1974Winter Rain6Michael DickinsonTony Dickinson
1975Tom Morgan6Colin TinklerKen Oliver
1976Vaguely Attractive7John Fowler[a]S Murphy
1977Siberian Sun6Frank BerryFrancis Flood
1978Another Dolly8John BurkeFred Rimell
1979Night Nurse8Jonjo O'NeillPeter Easterby
1980Western Rose8Sam MorsheadFred Rimell
1981Irian7Frank BerryArthur Moore
1982Brave Fellow8Tony CharltonJimmy FitzGerald
1983Ryeman6Alan BrownPeter Easterby
1984Noddy's Ryde7Neale DoughtyGordon W. Richards
1985Pan Arctic6Philip HobbsTom Bill
1986Pearlyman7Paul BartonJohn Edwards
1987Dan the Miller8Graham BradleyMonica Dickinson
1988Jim Thorpe7Chris GrantGordon W. Richards
1989Feroda8Tom TaaffeArthur Moore
1990Boutzdaroff8Derek ByrneJimmy FitzGerald
1991Young Benz7Lorcan WyerPeter Easterby
1992Cyphrate6Peter ScudamoreMartin Pipe
1993Valiant Boy7Russ GarrittySteve Kettlewell
1994Nakir6Jamie OsborneSimon Christian
1995Morceli7Norman WilliamsonHoward Johnson
1996Ask Tom7Peter NivenTom Tate
1997Squire Silk8Jamie OsborneAndrew Turnell
1998Direct Route7Paul CarberryHoward Johnson
1999Flagship Uberalles5Joe TizzardPaul Nicholls
2000Cenkos6David CaseyOliver Sherwood
2001Ballinclay King7Adrian MaguireFerdy Murphy
2002Armaturk5Timmy MurphyPaul Nicholls
2003Le Roi Miguel5Ruby WalshPaul Nicholls
2004Well Chief5Tony McCoyMartin Pipe
2005Ashley Brook7Paddy BrennanKevin Bishop
2006Foreman8Tony McCoyThierry Doumen
2007Twist Magic5Ruby WalshPaul Nicholls
2008Tidal Bay7Denis O'ReganHoward Johnson
2009Kalahari King8Graham LeeFerdy Murphy
2010Tataniano6Ruby WalshPaul Nicholls
2011Finian's Rainbow8Barry GeraghtyNicky Henderson
2012Sprinter Sacre6Barry GeraghtyNicky Henderson
2013Special Tiara6Bryan CooperHenry de Bromhead
2014Balder Succes6Wayne HutchinsonAlan King
2015Sizing Granite7Jonathan BurkeHenry de Bromhead
2016Douvan6Paul TownendWillie Mullins
2017San Benedeto6Nick ScholfieldPaul Nicholls
2018Diego Du Charmil6Harry CobdenPaul Nicholls
2019Ornua8Davy RussellHenry de Bromhead
no race 2020 [b]
2021Shishkin7Nico de BoinvilleNicky Henderson
2022Gentleman De Mee6Mark WalshWillie Mullins

Maghull Novices’ Chase Previous Result

Summary of the Maghull Novices’ Chase

Thank you for reading our Maghull Novices’ Chase guide.

Related 2023 Aintree Festival Articles

Here are all the related articles to the Aintree Festival 2023.

If you do choose to bet, please bet responsibly.

Popular Questions

Where is the Maghull Novices' Chase held?

The Maghull Novices’ Chase is held at Aintree Racecourse.


As the Founder of British Racecourses, I have a life-long passion for horse racing and have loved the sport as long as I can remember. I am also a keen racehorse owner and have worked in the gambling industry for several years. I set up British Racecourses with the desire to share my passion for racing with other like-minded people.