Gold Cup

Have you ever bet on the Cheltenham Gold Cup before?  It is one of the leading races in the National Hunt and is one of the longest races of its kind. The race is currently sponsored by Magners cider and is considered the most prestigious event of its kind.  Want to know more?  Read on!

Details of the Race

  • The Cheltenham Gold Cup has run since 1924, and is classed as a steeplechase
  • It is around three miles and two and a half furlongs long
  • It is open to horses who are at least five years old
  • It is part of the Cheltenham Festival, which takes place in March every year
  • The prize purse for the cup is huge – the winner took away £351,688 in 2019, and the overall fund came to £625,000

Betting on the Gold Cup

Are you looking into betting on the Cheltenham Gold Cup?  Now’s your chance. As one of the biggest races in the Cheltenham Festival and in the horse racing calendar, it’s not surprising that betting sites and online bookmakers make a point of listing some big deals for the event.

With that in mind, it may be worth leaving betting on the Cheltenham Gold Cup for as long as possible! While the runners and riders for the cup may emerge early, it’s worth holding out until the markets and odds solidify.  Otherwise, you may end up wasting your money on a market or an odd that falls flat!

Latest Online Odds

Want access to the latest online odds for the Cheltenham Gold Cup?  Make sure to take a close look at a variety of betting sites. You could choose an overall betting exchange, or you could compare different deals and odds from various brands listed on our site.

We want to make sure you have access to the best odds and markets for the Cheltenham Gold Cup.  Therefore, be sure to look around different sites.  There’s nothing to say you have to be loyal to anyone brand!  Take up some offers and compare odds from different horse betting brands.  You might end up pulling a fantastic tip out of the bag, who knows?

History of the Cheltenham Gold Cup

As you can imagine, as the Cheltenham Gold Cup has been running for such a long time, it has an incredible history. In its earliest years, it was known as a flat race, though since then it moved to a newer course and was upgraded to a steeplechase.  The Cheltenham Gold Cup switched over to its new turf in 1959.

The winner with the shortest-ever odds at the Cheltenham Gold Cup priced up at just 1/10!  Multiple horses have won the cup multiple times, too.  The cup itself, believe it or not, was actually stolen in a burglary back in 2010!  Thankfully, in 2018, the cup was recovered, and since that time, it has come back home.


The most prestigious winner of the Cheltenham Gold Cup was Golden Miller, a horse that won the race a record five times between 1932 and 1936.  No horse has come close to that record since, consecutive or otherwise!

The most-decorated jockey at the Cheltenham Gold Cup is Pat Taaffe, who won from 1964 to 1966, and again in 1968.  He won three times on Arkle.

Tom Dreaper is the trainer with the most wins, having trained Prince Regent, Arkle and Fort Leney to victory. The leading owner, however, is Dorothy Paget, who owned Golden Miller, Roman Heckle and Mont Tremblant.  As you can see, the Cheltenham Gold Cup really is anyone’s game – especially in the modern age!

So why not give it a go yourself and bet on the Cheltenham Gold Cup in 2020!

Taking place at the Cheltenham Festival every year in March, the Cheltenham Gold Cup is the feature race of the National Hunt calendar. The Grade 1 race is run over a distance of three miles two and a half furlongs, consisting of twenty-two challenging fences to be contested. The race is open to horses aged five years and over.

The first Cheltenham Gold Cup as a jumps race took place in 1924, with prize money for the winner amounting to £685. The near seven hundred pound purse was won by Red Splash, ridden by Dick Rees and ridden by Dick Withington. The shortest price horse to ever win the race was Arkle in 1966, who went off at 1/10. Arkle won the race on three consecutive occasions between 1964 and 1966 and still ranks up there to this day as one of the legends of jump racing.

Having a winner in the race is an excellent achievement for any trainer, having the first five horses to finish might seem far fetched, but that’s what Michael Dickinson achieved in the 1983 Gold Cup. The winner Bregawn was followed in by Michael’s other four horses in the race, Captain John, Wayward Lad, Silver Buck, and finally, Ashley House.

Most Successful Horse

Described as a God on four legs, Golden Miller is the most successful Gold Cup horse in history. Between 1932 and 1936, this legendary jumper won the race on five consecutive occasions. The five wins came under four different jockeys, Ted Leader in 1932, Billy Stott in 1933, Gerry Wilson in 1934 -35, and Evan Williams in 1936. All but one of the wins was the achievement of one trainer, Basil Briscoe. Owen Anthony trained Golden Miller on his final victory in 1936.
The modern-day stand out horse in many racing enthusiasts eyes would be Best Mate. The winner of three consecutive Gold Cups between 2002-2004 and trained and ridden by Henrietta Knight and JimCulloty respectively, he also won the King, George VI Chase, in 2002.

Leading Jockey

A hat-trick of wins from 1964 to 1966 on Arkle and a solitary win in 1968 on Fort Leney, makes Pat Taaffe the most successful jockey in the Gold Cup. Pat Taaffe gained his first win by beating the previous years’ winner Mill House. Neck and neck coming to the last fence, Arkle jumped into the lead. With Mill House battling back, it looked anybody’s race at the run-in, but Pat got every last ounce out of his horse and pulled clear in the final hundred yards, winning by three and a half lengths.
There was a repeat of the 1964 race in Pat Taaffes’ second Gold Cup success in 1965 when once again, Arkle was a thorn in the side for the previous five-time winner Mill House. This time though, there was more of a whimper than a challenge from the eventual runner up, with Arkle and Pat Taaffe easing to victory with plenty of daylight between himself and the challenger.
The three timers came a year later when Pat Taaffe only had four other horses in the race. Going off the hugely short-priced 1/10 favorite, there was never any doubt, and Arkle was the runaway winner by over thirty lengths. The fourth and final winner came on Fort Leney in 1968. a three-way tussle at the finish saw the Tom Dreaper horse finally win by half a length.

Leading Trainer

With his first win in 1946 with Prince Regent and his four wins with Arkle, as well as Fort Leney, Tom Dreaper is the top trainer in this illustrious race, having won it five times. If we jump forward thirty years or more, we find that Paul Nichols is close on his tail with four victories in the race. See More Business, ridden by Mick Fitzgerald, bought Paul his first Gold Cup winner, beating Go Balistic by one length.
It was another seven years before he could celebrate another Gold Cup triumph but certainly made up for the lost time by winning the next three consecutive races between 2007 and 2009. Kauto Star ridden by Ruby Walsh was the first of the three, followed a year later by the mount of Sam Thomas, Denman. Kauto Star returned to the winners’ enclosure in 2009, with Ruby Walsh once again on board.