Jersey Stakes

James Dooley avatar

Written By:


The Jersey Stakes is a Group 3 race over seven furlongs for three-year-olds at Royal Ascot.

Previous Group 1 or Group 2 winners must carry a 5lbs penalty with a 3lbs penalty for Group 3 winners.

The race often attracts horses which ran in the 1000 Guineas or 2000 Guineas and did not quite see out the mile. Notable past winners of the Jersey Stakes include Zilzal (1989), Observatory (2000), Proclamation (2005), Ribchester (2016) and Expert Eye (2018).

Find out more about The Jersey Stakes:

Jersey Stakes

Race Overview – Jersey Stakes

The Jersey Stakes is a flat horse race for three-year-olds held in the United Kingdom. Every year in June, it is held at Ascot over a distance of 7 furlongs.

Check out our guides to all the other Group 3 horse races.

Jersey Stakes 2024 Odds

Here are the latest odds for the Jersey Stakes in June 2024:

  • The odds for this race have not yet been released.

Jersey Stakes Tips

Here are some tips for Jersey Stakes in June 2024:

  • 2 points to win for TBC
  • 1 point each way for TBC

Some of the horses in the Jersey Stakes will run in other events later in the year. Stay updated on the horses and place ante-post bets if you want to wager on them.

Check out our guide for additional tips on races at Ascot Course.

Our top racing analysts provide free betting predictions for all Ascot racing events!

Jersey Stakes Previous Winners

Check out the previous winners below:

2013Gale Force TenJoseph O’BrienAidan O’Brien
2014MustajeebPat SmullenDermot Weld
2015Dutch ConnectionJim CrowleyCharles Hills
2016RibchesterWilliam BuickRichard Fahey
2017Le BrividoPierre-Charles BoudotAndré Fabre
2018Expert EyeJames McDonaldMichael Stoute
2019Space TravellerDaniel TudhopeRichard Fahey
2020MolathamJim CrowleyRoger Varian
2021Creative ForceJames DoyleCharlie Appleby
2022Noble TruthWilliam BuickCharlie Appleby
2023Age of KingsWayne LordanAidan O’Brien

Jersey Stakes Previous Result

Check out this result from the Ascot Racecourse:

Famous Jersey Stakes Winners

The Jersey Stakes was first run in 1919 and was named after the 4th Earl of Jersey. It is currently run as the second race on the final day of Royal Ascot. High class winners in the 1970’s and 1980’s include Red Alert (1974), Gay Fandango (1975), Hard Fought (1980), Indian Ridge (1988) and Zilzal (1989).

Zilzal was trained by Sir Michael Stoute and ridden by Walter Swinburn. He burst on to the scene with his Jersey Stakes win and would end the season rated Champion three-year-old and Horse of the Year. His subsequent victories included the Group 1 Sussex Stakes and Queen Elizabeth II Stakes.

2000 winner Observatory was famous for beating Giant’s Causeway in the Queen Elizabeth II Stakes at Ascot. Jockey Kevin Darley produced the colt with a late run down the centre of the track, avoiding getting into a battle with Giant’s Causeway who was known as “the Iron Horse”.

2001 winner Mozart reverted successfully to sprinting for Aidan O’Brien. He was named European Champion Sprinter after landing the July Cup and the Nunthorpe Stakes. Proclamation (2005) went up in trip to win the Sussex Stakes over a mile at Glorious Goodwood, beating Soviet Song by half a length.

Ribchester (2016) was yet another Jersey Stakes to go on to win at the highest level. He was trained by Richard Fahey for Godolphin and his subsequent victories included the Prix Jacques le Marois (2016), Lockinge Stakes (2017) and Queen Anne Stakes (2017). 2018 winner Expert Eye won the Breeders’ Cup Mile for Sir Michael Stoute and the excellent record of Jersey Stakes winners was maintained by Creative Force (2021). He closed out his season with victory in the British Champions Sprint at Ascot.

Key Jersey Stakes Trials

Three of the last twelve Jersey Stakes winners ran in the 2000 Guineas at Newmarket. Of those, only Ribchester (2016) was placed when finishing third behind Galileo Gold. 2012 winner Ishvana had finished runner-up in the Irish 1000 Guineas on her previous start yet was still allowed to go off at 20-1 here.

Another recent winner with Classic form was Le Brivido (2017) who had been beaten a short-head by Brametot in the French 2000 Guineas. The European Free Handicap at the Newmarket Craven meeting is another potential form guide to this race.

The last twelve winners of the Jersey Stakes were all defeated next time out, although most of them stepped up to Group 1 or Group 2 level. Six winners ran at the Glorious Goodwood Festival, four of them in the Lennox Stakes (one winner) and two in the Sussex Stakes.

There have only been two winning outright favourites in the last twelve renewals; Gale Force Ten (2013) and Le Brivido (2017). Mustajeeb (2014) and Creative Force (2021) both started joint-favourite. There have also been a couple of shock results. Space Traveller was a 25-1 shot when winning for Richard Fahey and Daniel Tudhope in 2019 and Ishvana (2012) returned at 20-1.

Seven of the last twelve winners had at least one previous victory over seven furlongs. There were five winners who successfully defied a Group race penalty. Perhaps the most surprising stat is that only one of the last dozen Jersey Stakes winners had won on their previous outing. A rating of 108 or higher is usually required to win this race. Only Rainfall (2010), Space Traveller (2019) and Molatham (2020) were below that figure on 103, 102 and 102 respectively. The highest rated winner during that spell was Le Brivido (2017) who was rated 121 after his fine run in the French Guineas.

Jersey Stakes – Top Trainers and Jockeys

The most successful jockeys in the history of the Jersey Stakes are Sir Gordon Richards and Lester Piggott who each won it six times. Richards’ winners came between 1929 and 1953. Piggott’s six winners were Favorita (1961), The Creditor (1963), Young Christopher (1964), Last Fandango (1975), Hard Fought (1980) and Rasa Penang (1981).

Sir Michael Stoute won this race for a record sixth time in 2018 with Expert Eye. His previous winners were Etienne Gerard (1977), Hard Fought (1980), Zilzal (1989), Among Men (1997) and Jeremy (2006). Aidan O’Brien has three Jersey Stakes victories; Mozart (2001), Ishvana (2012) and Gale Force Ten (2013).

Betting on the Jersey Stakes

The Jersey Stakes is one of the top three-year-old races of Royal Ascot. Seven furlongs is regarded as a specialist distance and this race attracts sprinters as well as potential milers. Horses that have failed to stay a mile in the Guineas are worth noting here and the winner usually goes on to be competitive at Group 1 level.

Popular Questions

When does the Jersey Stakes take place?

The Jersey Stakes takes place each year in June.

How long is the Jersey Stakes?

The Jersey Stakes is 7 furlongs long.

Summary of Jersey Stakes

Thank you for reading our Jersey Stakes guide. We hope our information was helpful.

2024 Royal Ascot Festival Posts

Here are all the related articles to the Royal Ascot Festival 2024:

If you do choose to bet, please bet responsibly.