Summer Stakes

The Summer Stakes is a Group 3 flat horse event for fillies and mares aged three and above contested in the United Kingdom. Every year in July, it takes place over six furlongs in York. The tournament first took place in 1996 and was recognised as a Listed event at the time.

Check out our guides to all the other Group 3 horse races.

Summer Stakes Odds

Here are the latest odds for the Summer Stakes in July 2023:

  • There is no open book of odds in the ante-post market for this event yet

Summer Stakes Tips

Here are some tips for Summer Stakes in July 2023:

  • 2 points to win for TBC at odds of TBC
  • 1 point each way for TBC at odds of TBC

Some of the horses in the Summer Stakes will run in other events later in the year. Stay updated on the horses and place ante-post bets if you want to wager on them.

What Happened In The 2022 Summer Stakes

Summer Stakes Previous Winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer
2013 Ladies are Forever 5 Graham Lee Geoff Oldroyd
2014 Ladies are Forever 6 Daniel Tudhope Geoff Oldroyd
2015 New Providence 3 Harry Bentley Hugo Palmer
2016 Ridge Ranger 5 Jason Hart Eric Alston
2017 Mystic Dawn 3 Stevie Donohoe David Simcock
2018 Raven’s Lady 4 Gerald Mosse Marco Botti
2019 Royal Intervention 3 Paul Hanagan Ed Walker
2020 Queen Jo Jo 4 Sam James Kevin Ryan
2021 Light Refrain 3 Tom Marquand William Haggas
2022 Flotus 3 Silvestre De Sousa Simon & Ed Crisford

Best Summer Stakes Betting Sites

Here are the most popular free bets for Summer Stakes betting:

Popular Questions

Who won the 2021 Summer Stakes?

The winner of the 2021 Summer Stakes was Light Refrain.

Where is the Summer Stakes held?

The Summer Stakes is held in York.

Summary of Summer Stakes

Thank you for checking out our summer stakes guide, we hope you enjoyed it.


As the Founder of British Racecourses, I have a life-long passion for horse racing and have loved the sport as long as I can remember. I am also a keen racehorse owner and have worked in the gambling industry for several years. I set up British Racecourses with the desire to share my passion for racing with other like-minded people.