World Trophy

The World Trophy is a Group 3 flat horse event for horses aged three and higher run in the United Kingdom.

Every year in September, it takes place at Newbury over a distance of 5 furlongs and 34 yards.

Find out more about the World Trophy:

World Trophy 2023 Odds

Here are the latest odds for the World Trophy in September 2023:

World Trophy Stakes
  • Date: Saturday 17th of September 2022
  • Time: 14:15
  • Details: 9 Runners
Tis Marvellous
Royal Aclaim
Teresa Mendoza
White Lavender

World Trophy Tips

Here are some tips for World Trophy in September 2023:

  • 2 points to win for TBC at odds of TBC
  • 1 point each way for TBC at odds of TBC

Some of the horses in the World Trophy will run in other events later in the year. Stay updated on the horses and place ante-post bets if you want to wager on them.

World Trophy Previous Winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer Time
1980Blue Persian3Bruce RaymondBen Hanbury
1981Long Legend3Lester PiggottHenry Cecil
1982Special Pleasure3Lester PiggottRobert Armstrong
1983Fine Edge3Pat EdderyJeremy Tree
1984Susa Steel3Bruce RaymondJeremy Hindley
1985Tuxford Hideaway3Geoff BaxterRichard Whitaker
1986Filleor3George DuffieldGavin Pritchard-Gordon
1987Moorestyle Girl3Pat EdderyLester Piggott
1988Young Hal3Pat EdderyPeter Walwyn1:00.87
1989Blyton Lad3Stuart WebsterJohn Balding1:02.53
1990Ra'A3Willie CarsonHarry Thomson Jones1:02.94
1991On Tiptoes3Michael RobertsJim Leigh1:01.74
1992Wolfhound3Steve CauthenJohn Gosden1:02.27
1993Surprise Offer3Bruce RaymondRichard Hannon Sr.1:03.39
1994Eveningperformance3Billy NewnesHenry Candy1:04.54
1995Easy Option3Walter SwinburnSaeed bin Suroor1:02.56
1996Struggler4Frankie DettoriDavid Loder0:59.77
1997Eveningperformance6Chris RutterHenry Candy1:00.66
1998Cathedral4Pat EdderyBrian Meehan1:00.92
1999Imperial Beauty3Pat EdderyPeter Makin1:01.23
2000Ivory's Joy5Craig CarverKen Ivory1:00.33
2001The Trader3Fergus SweeneyMichael Blanshard0:59.72
2002Lady Dominatrix3Paul DoeNerys Dutfield0:59.91
2003Ratio5Philip RobinsonJohn Hammond0:59.82
2004The Tatling7Ryan MooreMilton Bradley1:00.68
2005The Tatling8Ryan MooreMilton Bradley0:59.72
2006Dixie Belle3Tom QueallyMick Quinlan1:00.16
2007Rowe Park4Liam KeniryLinda Jewell1:00.18
2008Moorhouse Lad5Jim CrowleyBryan Smart1:00.67
2009Strike the Deal4Kieren FallonJeremy Noseda1:00.04
2010Astrophysical Jet3Graham GibbonsEd McMahon1:00.07
2011Deacon Blues4Frankie DettoriJames Fanshawe1:00.49
2012Swiss Spirit3William BuickDavid Elsworth0:59.81
2013Maarek6Declan McDonoghBarry Lalor1:01.04
2014Mecca's Angel3Paul MulrennanMichael Dods1:01.71
2015Steps7Jamie SpencerRoger Varian1:02.40
2016Cotai Glory4George BakerCharles Hills1:00.93
2017Take Cover10David AllanDavid Griffiths0:58.79
2018Mr Lupton5Gerald MosseRichard Fahey1:01.64
2019Maid In India5Jamie SpencerEric Alston0:59.31
2020Lazuli3William BuickCharlie Appleby0:58.40
2021Hurricane Ivor4Tom MarquandWilliam Haggas1:00.02
2022Mitbaahy3David EganRoger Varian1:00.42

World Trophy Previous Result

Popular Questions

What are some interesting facts about the World Trophy?

  • The World Trophy is held at Newbury Racecourse
  • The prize money is ┬ú45,000
  • The distance of the race is 5 furlongs and 34 yards
  • The race is held in September each year

Summary of World Trophy

Thank you for reading our World Trophy Guide.

Check out our guides to all the other Group 3 horse races.

Related September Articles


As the Founder of British Racecourses, I have a life-long passion for horse racing and have loved the sport as long as I can remember. I am also a keen racehorse owner and have worked in the gambling industry for several years. I set up British Racecourses with the desire to share my passion for racing with other like-minded people.