Challenge Stakes

The Challenge Stakes is a flat horse race for horses aged three and up to run in the United Kingdom. Every year in October, it is run over a course of 7 furlongs on the Rowley Mile in Newmarket.

Check out our guides to all the other Group 2 horse races.

Challenge Stakes Odds

Here are the latest odds for the Challenge Stakes in September 2022:

  • There is no open book of odds in the ante-post market for this event yet

Challenge Stakes Tips

Here are some tips for Challenge Stakes in September 2022:

  • 2 points to win for TBC at odds of TBC
  • 1 point each way for TBC at odds of TBC

Some of the horses in the Challenge Stakes will run in other events later in the year. Stay updated on the horses and place ante-post bets if you want to wager on them.

Challenge Stakes Previous Winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer
2012 Fulbright 3 Joe Fanning Mark Johnston
2013 Fiesolana 4 Billy Lee Willie McCreery
2014 Here Comes When 4 Jim Crowley Andrew Balding
2015 Cable Bay 4 Frankie Dettori Charlie Hills
2016 Aclaim 3 Frankie Dettori Martyn Meade
2017 Limato 5 Harry Bentley Henry Candy
2018 Limato 6 Harry Bentley Henry Candy
2019 Mustashry 6 Jim Crowley Michael Stoute
2020 Happy Power 4 Silvestre de Sousa Andrew Balding
2021 Al Suhail 4 William Buick Charlie Appleby

Best Challenge Stakes Betting Sites

Here are the most popular free bets for Challenge Stakes betting:

Popular Questions

How far is the Challenge Stakes?

The Challenge Stakes is 7 furlongs long.

Where is the Challenge Stakes run?

Challenge Stakes is run at the Rowley Mile in Newmarket.

Summary of Challenge Stakes



As the Founder of British Racecourses, I have a life-long passion for horse racing and have loved the sport as long as I can remember. I am also a keen racehorse owner and have worked in the gambling industry for several years. I set up British Racecourses with the desire to share my passion for racing with other like-minded people.